New Jersey County Map

The 21 counties such as Sussex, Warren, Hunterdon and Mercer, which make up New Jersey, have been shown in the New Jersey County Map. As per the map the state is bordered by New York in north and Atlantic Ocean in east.
New Jersey County Map Connecticut County Map New York County Map New York County Map Delaware County Map Maryland County Map Pennsylvania County Map Sussex Passaic Bergen Hudson Essex Union Middlesex Monmouth Morris Warren Hunterdon Somerset Mercer Ocean Burlington Camden Gloucester Atlantic Salem Cumberland Cape May
Description: Map of New Jersey showing the counties of the state. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

About the New Jersey Counties

The state of New Jersey is home to 21 counties. These counties can be further subdivided into 4 villages, 15 towns, 244 townships, 52 cities, 250 boroughs, and 565 municipalities. The counties are engaged in executing state mandated responsibilities, like the maintenance of certain roads, parks, and jails.
New Jersey Zip Codes

New Jersey Zip Codes Map
with Counties and Cities

Between the years 1674 and 1702, the state was managed by two proprietors’ groups. These groups managed the state as two distinctive provinces, i.e. the West Jersey and the East Jersey. In 1675, East Jersey was split into Essex, Middlesex, Monmouth, and Bergen counties. On the other hand, West Jersey was split into the counties of Salem and Burlington in 1681. The Union County was the last addition to the list and was added to New Jersey in 1857.

The county names of New Jersey derive from various sources; chiefly most of the counties are named after the prominent names in England and well as famous leaders of the revolutionary and colonial era.

Some of the popular counties of New Jersey are:

Bergen County: A part of the New York Metropolitan Region, the county seat for Bergen County is Hackensack. The county, which was established in 1683, is home to approximately 200 arts and history galleries. Besides, it also carves a niche for its parkland, entertainment, and shopping destinations. With marvelous attractions, including Ski Campgaw, Bergen Equestrian Center, Bergen County Zoo, and USS Ling and Naval Museum, this certainly makes a great destination.

For those interested in continuing their higher education here can choose from plenty of options, including Bergen Community College, St. Peter's University – Englewood Cliffs Campus, Jersey College –Teterboro, Eastwick College, and Felician College.

Essex County: Located on the northeastern region of the United States, the county was formed in 1683 with Newark as its county seat. The county forms a part of the New York Metropolitan Region. The county got its name from Essex, another county in the East of England.

On a trip to the Essex County some of the must see attractions, include Montclair Art Museum, MDN Latin Dance Studio, Crane House and Museum, Branch Brook Park, and the Thomas Edison National Historical Park.

Those intended to attend colleges and universities in Essex County can look for options like Bloomfield College, Essex County College, Gibbs College – Livingston, Rutgers University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, and Northeastern Bible College.

Salem County: Located in the United States, Salem County forms a part of the Delaware Valley Region and was established in 1694 with county seat in Salem. With a rich heritage of historical events and places, a wide range of open spaces and natural resources, and an influential economical base, the county carves a niche for its quality of life. Located in the southwest side of New Jersey, this county is easily accessible from New York, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Wilmington, Baltimore, and Atlantic City.

Some of the must see attractions of this county are Salem County Historical Society Museum, Finns Point Lighthouse, Fort Mott State Park, Three Forts Ferry, Finns Point National Cemetery, Supawna Meadows National Wildlife Refuge, Parvin State Park, New Jersey Coastal Heritage Trail, to name a few.

For higher education, the Salem Community College makes for a good choice.

Burlington County: The county is an essential part of the Delaware Valley Region and was created in the year 1694. Its county seat lies in Mounty Holly Township.The major attractions of this county are Suffolk Stables, Arney's Mount Friends Meetinghouse and Burial Ground, Moorestown Friends School and Meetinghouse, Evesham Friends Meeting House, Bass River State Forest, and Wharton State Forest.

Besides, Burlington County College is a popular choice for those willing to come here for higher education.


List of New Jersey Counties

County NamePopulation (2016)Area (sq. mi.)
Atlantic County Map270,991561.07
Bergen County Map939,151234.17
Burlington County Map449,284804.57
Camden County Map510,150222.3
Cape May County Map94,430255.19
Cumberland County Map153,797489.3
Essex County Map796,914126.27
Gloucester County Map292,330324.72
Hudson County Map677,98346.69
Hunterdon County Map124,676429.94
Mercer County Map371,023225.93
County NamePopulation (2016)Area (sq. mi.)
Middlesex County Map837,073309.72
Monmouth County Map625,846471.94
Morris County Map498,423468.99
Ocean County Map592,497636.28
Passaic County Map507,945185.29
Salem County Map63,436337.88
Somerset County Map333,751304.69
Sussex County Map142,522521.26
Union County Map555,630103.29
Warren County Map106,617357.87
Source: factfinder.census.gov

Last Updated Date: June 22,2020