Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sports Events / Cricket / World Cup / India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka 1996 Cricket World Cup Results

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka 1996 Cricket World Cup Results

Download Cricket World Cup Schedule in PDF

  • Download PDF

Cricket World Cup 1996 was hosted by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. It was the first time in the history of World Cup that three countries jointly took the initiative to host the tournament at their various venues.
Twelve teams competed in the tournament that had 37 matches. The sixth world cup tournament began with a controversy, when Australia and West Indies refused to send their teams to Sri Lanka where LTTE triggered major attacks.

The tournament saw the introduction of third umpire in front of the TV monitor that gives the final decision if the field umpire is confused on taking a decision of whether the player is out or not out. The third umpire gives the decision by repeatedly monitoring the TV display.

Several players bid adieu to their profession after this tournament. Javed Miandad of Pakistan, Robin Smith of England, West Indies players Richie Richardson and Roger Harper, Asanka Gurusinha of Sri Lanka, Ramiz Raja of Pakistan, Manoj Prabhakar of India, England player Phil DeFreitas, Dipak Patel of New Zealand, Andy Waller of Zimbabwe and Australian player Craig McDermott. Pakistan bowler Waqar Younis made his first World Cup appearance in this tournament.

Out of the 12 teams that participated, 3 teams like the United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands and Kenya made their debut performances in the tournament. The matches held in different venues of the three countries such as Sardar Patel Gujarat Stadium in Ahmedabad, Lal Bahadur Stadium in Hyderabad, The Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in Pakistan, Green Park (Modi Stadium) at Kanpur, R. Premadasa (Khettarama) Stadium in Colombo, Sinhalese Sports Club Ground in Colombo, Moti Bagh Stadium at Vadodara,Barabati Stadium at Cuttack, Arbab Niaz (Shahi Bagh) Stadium at Peshawar in Pakistan, Iqbal Stadium at Faisalabad, Roop Singh Stadium at Gwalior, The Indira Priyadarshini Stadium at Vishakhapatnam, Jinah (Municipal) Stadium at Gujranwala, Moin-ul-Haq Stadium at Patna, Nehru Stadium in Pune, Vidarbha C.A.Ground at Nagpur, Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium at Delhi, Jaipur Sawai Mansingh Stadium at Jaipur, Asgiriya Stadium at Kandy in Sri Lanka, Chinnaswamy Stadium at Bangalore, MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, Punjab CA Stadium in Mohali and Gadaffi (Lahore) Stadium in Pakistan.

Indian bowler Anil Kumble took 15 wickets in the tournament and set the record for the top wicket-taker. Sachin Tendulkar scored 523 runs top break the record of top run scorer. These are some of the various records in the Cricket world Cup 1996.

The final match between Australia and host Sri Lanka saw the outstanding performance of Sri Lankan player de Silva. He took two catches and three wickets and took a stunning 107 runs not out. This exceptional contribution made Sri Lanka crush Australia and win the tournament by 7 wickets.

Last Updated : January 23, 2015

Group A
16 February Zimbabwe
151/9 (50 overs)
v West Indies
155/4 (29.3 overs)
West Indies won by 6 wickets
Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad
17 February Sri Lankav AustraliaSri Lanka won by a walkover
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
18 February Kenya
199/6 (50 overs)
v India
203/3 (41.5 overs)
India won by 7 wickets
Barabati Stadium, Cuttack
21 February Zimbabwe
228/6 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
229/4 (37 overs)
Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo
21 February West Indies
173 (50 overs)
v India
174/5 (39.4 overs)
India won by 5 wickets
Captain Roop Singh Stadium, Gwalior
23 February Australia
304/7 (50 overs)
v Kenya
207/7 (50 overs)
Australia won by 97 runs
Indira Priyadarshini Stadium, Visakhapatnam
26 February Sri Lankav West IndiesSri Lanka won by a walkover
Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
26 February Kenya
134 (49.4 overs)
v Zimbabwe
137/5 (42.2 overs)
Zimbabwe won by 5 wickets
Moin-ul-Haq Stadium, Patna
27 February Australia
258 (50 overs)
v India
242 (48 overs)
Australia won by 16 runs
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
29 February Kenya
166 (49.3 overs)
v West Indies
93 (35.2 overs)
Kenya won by 73 runs
Nehru Stadium, Pune
1 March Zimbabwe
154 all out (45.3 overs)
v Australia
158/2 (36 overs)
Australia won by 8 wickets
Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground, Nagpur
2 March India
271/3 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
272/4 (48.4 overs)
Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
4 March Australia
229/6 (50 overs)
v West Indies
232/6 (48.5 overs)
West Indies won by 4 wickets
Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
6 March India
247/5 (50 overs)
v Zimbabwe
207 all out (49.4 overs)
India won by 40 runs
Green Park, Kanpur
6 March Sri Lanka
398/5 (50 overs)
v Kenya
254/7 (50 overs)
Sri Lanka won by 144 runs
Asgiriya Stadium, Kandy
Group B
14 February New Zealand
239/6 (50 overs)
v England
228/9 (50 overs)
New Zealand won by 11 runs
Gujarat Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
16 February South Africa
321/2 (50 overs)
v United Arab Emirates
152/8 (50 overs)
South Africa won by 169 runs
Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
17 February New Zealand
307/8 (50 overs)
v Netherlands
188/7 (50 overs)
New Zealand won by 119 runs
Moti Bagh Stadium, Baroda
18 February United Arab Emirates
136 (48.3 overs)
v England
140/2 (35 overs)
England won by 8 wickets
Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawa
20 February New Zealand
177/9 (50 overs)
v South Africa
178/5 (37.3 overs)
South Africa won by 5 wickets
Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad
22 February England
279/4 (50 overs)
v Netherlands
230/6 (50 overs)
England won by 49 runs
Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawar
24 February United Arab Emirates
109/9 (33 overs)
v Pakistan
112/1 (18 overs)
Pakistan won by 9 wickets
Jinnah Stadium, Gujranwala
25 February South Africa
230 all out (50 overs)
v England
152 all out (44.3 overs)
South Africa won by 78 runs
Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
26 February Netherlands
145/7 (50 overs)
v Pakistan
151/2 (30.4 overs)
Pakistan won by 8 wickets
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
27 February New Zealand
276/8 (47 overs)
v United Arab Emirates
167/9 (47 overs)
New Zealand won by 109 runs
Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad
29 February Pakistan
242/6 (50 overs)
v South Africa
243/5 (44.2 overs)
South Africa won by 5 wickets
National Stadium, Karachi
1 March Netherlands
216/9 (50 overs)
v United Arab Emirates
220/3 (44.2 overs)
United Arab Emirates won by 7 wickets
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
3 March England
249/9 (50 overs)
v Pakistan
250/3 (47.4 overs)
Pakistan won by 7 wickets
National Stadium, Karachi
5 March South Africa
328/3 (50 overs)
v Netherlands
168/8 (50 overs)
South Africa won by 160 runs
Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
6 March Pakistan
281/5 (50 overs)
v New Zealand
235 (47.3 overs)
Pakistan won by 46 runs
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Knockout stage
9 March England
235/8 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
236/5 (40.4 overs)
Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets
Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad
9 March India
287/8 (50 overs)
v Pakistan
248/9 (49 overs)
India won by 39 runs
M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
11 March West Indies
264/8 (50 overs)
v South Africa
245 (49.3 overs)
West Indies won by 19 runs
National Stadium, Karachi
11 March New Zealand
286/9 (50 overs)
v Australia
289/4 (47.5 overs)
Australia won by 6 wickets
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
13 March Sri Lanka
251/8 (50 overs)
v India
120/8 (34.1 overs)
Match awarded to Sri Lanka
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
14 March Australia
207/8 (50 overs)
v West Indies
202 all out (49.3 overs)
Australia won by 5 runs
Punjab C.A. Stadium, Mohali
17 March Australia
241/7 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
245/3 (46.2 overs)
Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore