Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sports Events / Cricket / World Cup / India Pakistan 1987 Cricket World Cup Results

India Pakistan 1987 Cricket World Cup Results

Download Cricket World Cup Schedule in PDF

  • Download PDF

Hosted by India and Pakistan, the Cricket World Cup 1987 was the first to be held away from England. The different stadiums in India and Pakistan were venues for the 27 matches played by 8 teams.
It was the first World Cup to feature neutral umpires. All the matches were played during the day. The players worn traditional white uniforms.

The various venues that hosted the Cricket World Cup 1987 matches were Niaz stadium in Hyderabad, MA Chidambaram Stadium at Chennai, Municipal Stadium at Gujranwala in Pakistan, Pindi Club Ground at Rawalpindi in Pakistan, National stadiums at Karachi in Pakistan, M.Chinnaswamy Stadium at Bangalore, Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Wankhede Stadium at Mumbai, Arbab Niaz Stadium in Peshawar, Nehru Stadium at Indore, Green Park Stadium at Kanpur, Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi, Eden Gardens in Kolkata, Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad, Gujarat Stadium in Ahmedabad, Sector 16 Stadium in Chandigarh, Barabati Stadium in Cuttack, Nehru stadium in Pune and Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground in Nagpur.

The Cricket World Cup 1987 also bid adieu to two significant players Gavaskar of India and Vivian Richards of West Indies. It saw the debut performance of two players Navjot Singh Sidhu of India and Tom Moody of Australia.

Like other tournaments, the 1987 World cup also set many records. G A Gooch of England scored 471 runs in the 8 matches and set the record for the Highest Run-scorer. IVA Richards of West Indies scored 181 runs and became the player to achieve the record of Highest Individual Score. CJ McDermott of Australia took 18 wickets and set the record of the Highest Wicket-taker.

Australia grabbed the 1987 World Cup after winning the neck-to-neck final match between Australia and England by 7 runs.

Last Updated : January 23, 2015

Group A
October 9, 1987Australia
270/6 (50 overs)
v India
269 (49.5 overs)
Australia won by 1 run
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Madras
October 10, 1987New Zealand
242/7 (50 overs)
v Zimbabwe
239 (49.4 overs)
New Zealand won by 3 runs
Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad
October 13, 1987Australia
235/9 (50 overs)
v Zimbabwe
139 (49.4 overs)
Australia won by 96 runs
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Madras
October 14, 1987India
252/7 (50 overs)
v New Zealand
236/8 (50 overs)
India won by 16 runs
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
October 17, 1987Zimbabwe
135 (44.2 overs)
v India
136/2 (27.5 overs)
India won by 8 wickets
Wankhede Stadium, Bombay
October 18, 1987Australia
199/4 (30 overs)
v New Zealand
196/9 (30 overs)
Australia won by 3 runs
Nehru Stadium, Indore
October 22, 1987India
289/6 (50 overs)
v Australia
233 (49 overs)
India won by 56 runs
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
October 23, 1987Zimbabwe
227/5 (50 overs)
v New Zealand
228/6 (47.4 overs)
New Zealand won by 4 wickets
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
October 26, 1987Zimbabwe
191/7 (50 overs)
v India
194/3 (42 overs)
India won by 7 wickets
Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad
October 27, 1987Australia
251/8 (50 overs)
v New Zealand
234 (48.4 overs)
Australia won by 17 runs
Sector 16 Stadium, Chandigarh
October 30, 1987Australia
266/5 (50 overs)
v Zimbabwe
196/6 (50 overs)
Australia won by 70 runs
Barabati Stadium, Cuttack
October 31, 1987New Zealand
221/9 (50 overs)
v India
224/1 (32.1 overs)
India won by 9 wickets
VCA Ground, Nagpur
Group B
October 8, 1987Pakistan
267/6 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
252 (49.2 overs)
Pakistan won by 15 runs
Niaz Stadium, Hyderabad
October 8, 1987West Indies
243/7 (50 overs)
v England
246/8 (49.3 overs)
England won by 2 wickets
Municipal Stadium, Gujranwala
13 October 1987 Pakistan
239/7 (50 overs)
v England
221 (48.4 overs)
Pakistan won by 18 runs
Pindi Club Ground, Rawalpindi
13 October 1987 West Indies
360/4 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
169/4 (50 overs)
West Indies won by 191 runs
National Stadium, Karachi
October 16, 1987West Indies
216 (50 overs)
v Pakistan
217/9 (50 overs)
Pakistan won by 1 wicket
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
October 17, 1987England
296/4 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
158/8 (45 overs)
England won by 108 runs
Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawar
October 20, 1987England
244/9 (50 overs)
v Pakistan
247/3 (49 overs)
Pakistan won by 7 wickets
National Stadium, Karachi
October 21, 1987West Indies
236/8 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
211/8 (50 overs)
West Indies won by 25 runs
Green Park, Kanpur
October 25, 1987Pakistan
297/7 (50 overs)
v Sri Lanka
184/8 (50 overs)
Pakistan won by 113 runs
Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad
October 26, 1987England
269/5 (50 overs)
v West Indies
235 (48.1 overs)
England won by 34 runs
Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipu
October 30, 1987Sri Lanka
218/7 (50 overs)
v England
219/2 (41.2 overs)
England won by 8 wickets
Nehru Stadium, Poona
October 30, 1987West Indies
258/7 (50 overs)
v Pakistan
230/9 (50 overs)
West Indies won by 28 runs
National Stadium, Karachi

November 4, 1987Australia
267/6 (50 overs)
v Pakistan
249 (49.2 overs)
Australia won by 18 runs
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
November 5, 1987England
254/6 (50 overs)
v India
219 (45.3 overs)
England won by 35 runs
Wankhede Stadium, Bombay
November 8, 1987Australia
253/5 (50 overs)
v England
246/8 (50 overs)
Australia won by 7 runs
Eden Gardens,Kolkata

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

Buy Maps Online

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064