Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent

Golf Trophies

The Masters Trophy and Green Jacket

At the first of the PGA’s four major tournaments, the Masters Trophy and Green Jacket are presented to winners at Augusta National Golf Course – possibly the most famous country club in the world not named St. Andrews.  Though the jacket has caught the fancy of most of the sports world, many forget the trophy is among the most intricate (and heaviest) designs in all of sports.  Most players rate the moment when the jacket is placed on their shoulders in the stifling Georgia sun and the resulting pictures with the trophy are taken as the highlights of their sporting …Continue reading

The Wanamaker Trophy

The PGA Championship is more than two decades younger than the US Open, but its trophy has far more stories to tell.  The Wanamaker Trophy, named after a man who helped found the PGA and provided the tournament’s grand prize in its early years (first a gold medal, then the trophy itself), has been in the hands of many professional golf legends since the tournament was first contested in 1916.  Standing 28 inches high and weighing some 27 pounds, the sterling silver trophy is among the largest in the world – and the biggest of golf’s four majors. History At …Continue reading

The US Open Golf Trophy

Of professional golf’s four-tournament Grand Slam every summer, the competition for three of the trophies happens in the United States.  The oldest of them all is the US Open Championship Trophy, dating to an 1895 on the Newport Country Club course in Rhode Island.  An elegant silver jug resting on a matching base, it is topped by a majestic female figurine with open wings.  Every June, the best golfers in the world – including amateurs who’ve gone through rigorous regional qualifying tournaments – descend on one of America’s finest courses to do their best to get their hands on the …Continue reading

The Claret Jug

When you have the weight of almost a century and a half worth of history behind your particular championship, it’s necessary that the trophy you award has an air of elegance about it, which is why the Claret Jug is the perfect prize for the world’s oldest golf tournament, the Open Championship of Britain.  The Golf Champion Trophy, as it is officially named, has been presented to tournament winners since 1873 and grown slightly to accommodate the winners’ names after it was first placed in the hands of Tom Kidd at St. Andrews’ fabled Old Course. History When the Open …Continue reading