Regions of Germany

North German Plain, the Central Uplands and the Alpine Foreland are the three major geographical regions of Germany.

The Federal Office for Nature Conversation (Bundesamt fur Naturschutz) has classified Germany (German: Deutschland Karte) into seven major divisions. The are:
  • Northeast German Plain
  • Northwest German Plain
  • Western Central Uplands
  • Eastern Central Uplands
  • South German Scarplands
  • Alpine Foreland and Alps
  • North and Baltic Sea
North German Plain
The land relief of North German Plain can be classified as a region of the Young Drift. It constitutes the major geographical regions of the country and is a segment of the North European Plain. It shares borders with the coasts of the North Sea and Baltic Sea to the north, and the Central Uplands of Germany to the south. Major rivers in this region are Rhine, Ems, Weser, Elbe, and Havel. These rivers flow northward into the North Sea.

Central German Uplands
The Central German Uplands are a part of the Central European Uplands that stretche from France to Poland and the Czech Republic. The Uplands in Germany are moderate in height and encompass various regions, including the Saarland, Hesse, and Thuringia. The region is surrounded by North German Plains to the north and the Alps and the Alpine Foreland to the south. The topography of this region is characterized by forests and rifts and valleys. This region is home to Bavarian Forest, Thuringer Wald, Taunus, and Bergisches Land.

South German Scarplands
South German Scarplands is located in South German states of Bavaria and Baden-Wurttemberg. The topography of this region is characterized by escarpments. It was created during the Mesozoic era. This region has large forested areas. It stretches from the southern Rhon, the Spessart, the Odenwald and Black Forest in the west, the Franconian Jura in the east, the Swabian Jura to the southeast and the northeastern foothills of the Jura to the south.

Last Updated on: November 22nd, 2017