Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Maps / Egypt Map / Political Map of Egypt

Political Map of Egypt

Political map of Egypt illustrates the surrounding countries with international borders, 27 governorates boundaries with their capitals and the national capital.
Description :  Political map of Egypt showing the international boundary, governorates boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

The Arab Republic of Egypt is a trans-continental country located in North Africa. It covers a total area of 387,048 square miles. According to the 2011 estimate, the population of the Republic is 81,015,887.

As shown in the political map of Egypt, the country is bordered by Sudan to the south, Libya to the west, and Gaza and Israel to the east. Egypt also shares borders with the Mediterranean Sea to the north and Red Sea to the east.

The political map of Egypt marks the national capital, major cities, the major water bodies, and the international divisions of the country.

Cairo is the capital of Egypt and is marked in the map with a red dot enclosed in a square. With a population of 11.6 million, Cairo is the largest city in the Africa and the Arab world. The city is a perfect representation of the Egyptian culture. The beautiful masterpieces of art and architecture in the city has earned Cairo the nickname "The City of a Thousand Minarets."

The other major cities of Egypt include Baris, Al Kharijah, Abu Sunbul, Luxor, Siwah, Marsa Al Alam, Al Bawati, and Alexandria.

Egypt is divided into twenty-seven governorates that are further divided into regions. The regions are composed of many towns and villages.

The governates are:
  • Alexandria
  • Aswan
  • Asyut
  • Beheira
  • Beni Suef
  • Ismailia
  • Kafr el-Sheikh
  • Luxor
  • South Sinai
  • Suez
  • Sohag
  • Cairo
  • Dakahlia
  • Damietta
  • Faiyum
  • Gharbia
  • Giza
  • Ismailia
  • Kafr el-Sheikh
  • Luxor
  • Gharbia
  • Alexandria
  • Aswan
  • Asyut
  • Beheira
  • Beni Suef
  • Cairo
  • Dakahlia
  • Damietta
  • Giza
  • Faiyum
  • Matruh
  • Minya
  • Monufia
  • New Valley
  • North Sinai
  • Port Said
  • Qalyubia
  • Qena
  • Red Sea
  • Sharqia

Egypt is a presidential republic with the president being the head of state. However, the country does not have a presidential head as of now. Early in 2011, the autocratic leader Hosni Mobarak who ruled the country for thirty years was overthrown. The leader himself stepped down after a series of protests rocked the nation. Since then, the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces has been ruling Egypt; the council is headed by Mohamed Hussein Tantawi.

The Egyptian economy is mainly driven by agriculture, media, petroleum exports, and tourism. In 2011, the gross domestic product (PPP) of Egypt was estimated at $508.265 billion, while the per capita stood at $6,361. Egypt has large deposits of coal, oil, natural gas, and hydro power, which makes the country a global producer of energy.

GovernoratePopulation: 2006-11-11 census (source [3]).Area(km.²)Area(mi.²)Capital
Ad Daqahliyah4,985,1873,4711,340Al Mansurah
Al Bahr al Ahmar288,233203,68578,643Al Ghurdaqah
Al Buhayrah4,737,12910,1293,911Damanhur
Al Fayyum2,512,7921,827705Al Fayyum
Al Gharbiyah4,010,2981,942750Tanta
Al Iskandariyah4,110,0152,6791,035Al Iskandariyah
Al Isma'iliyah942,8321,442557Al Isma'iliyah
Al Jizah6,272,57185,10532,859Al Jizah
Al Minufiyah3,270,4041,532592Shibin al Kawm
Al Minya4,179,3092,262873Al Minya
Al Qahirah7,786,64021483Al Qahirah
Al Qalyubiyah4,237,0031,001387Banha
Al Uqsur451,3185521Al Uqsur
Al Wadi al Jadid187,256376,505145,369Al Kharijah
Ash Sharqiyah5,340,0584,1801,614Az Zaqaziq
As Suways510,93517,8406,888As Suways
Bani Suwayf2,290,5271,322510Bani Suwayf
Bur Sa'id570,7687228Bur Sa'id
Janub Sina149,33533,14012,795At Tur
Kafr ash Shaykh2,618,1113,4371,327Kafr ash Shaykh
Matruh322,341212,11281,897Marsa Matruh
Shamal Sina339,75227,57410,646Al 'Arish
27 governorates72,579,030997,690385,210

Note  : - Population: 2006-11-11 census (source [3]).

Last Updated : August 26, 2013

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

Buy Maps Online

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064   bill@mapxl.com