US States Map > Map of Ohio > Ohio State Profile

Ohio State Profile

by Vishul Malik

Important FAQ about Ohio Where is Ohio? Ohio is located in the eastern north-central United States. It is bordered by Michigan and the Canadian province of Ontario on the north;…

Important FAQ about Ohio

Where is Ohio?

Ohio is located in the eastern north-central United States. It is bordered by Michigan and the Canadian province of Ontario on the north; by Pennsylvania and West Virginia on the east; by West Virginia and Kentucky on the south, and by Indiana on the west.

There are five islands that lie off the northern shore of Ohio, the three Bass Islands, Kelleys Island, and Catawba Island. The geographic center of the state is in Delaware County.

What is the capital city of Ohio?

Columbus is the capital city of Ohio. With an area of 212.6 square miles, it is the largest city in the state. It is also the most populous city with a population of 787,033 as per the 2010 census. The city is home to the largest university in the state, The Ohio State University. The city has been the state capital since 1816.

What is the nickname of Ohio?

Ohio is nicknamed the “Buckeye State.” The name refers to the many buckeye trees that once covered its hills and plains. The buckeye is also the state tree.

How big is Ohio?

The total area of the state is 41,330 square miles, of which land comprises 41,004 square miles and inland water 326 square miles. It is the thirty-fourth largest state in the United States by area.

What is the population of Ohio?

The seventh-most populous state in the United States, Ohio has an estimated population of 11,536,504 (as per the 2010 census). German (28.9%), Irish (14.8%), English (10.1%), Polish (8.4%) and Italian (6.4%) are the largest ancestry groups in the state.

When did achieve Ohio statehood?

Ohio became part of the United States with the signing of the Treaty of Paris (1783). In 1799, General St Clair became the first governor but his arbitrary rule forced the people to overthrow his regime. Hence in 1802 a state convention drafted a constitution and in the following year Ohio entered the Union, with Chillicothe as its capital. It is the seventeenth American state.

Who are the political leaders of Ohio?

The state government of Ohio comprises the executive, judicial, and legislative branches. The governor is the executive head of the state.
Governor: John Kasich
Lieutenant Governor: Mary Taylor

What are the languages spoken in Ohio?

English is the most widely spoken language in Ohio. The other languages spoken in the state are Spanish or Spanish Creole, French, German, Italian, Russian, Polish, Greek, Serbo-Croatian, Hungarian, Chinese, Arabic and Korean. Amharic, Ibo, Twi, Yoruba, Bantu, Swahili, and Somali are some of the African languages used in the state.

What is the religion of Ohio?
Christianity is the predominant religion in Ohio. Twenty-six percent of Ohio’s population is Evangelical Protestant, Mainline Protestant (22%) and 21% is Roman Catholic. Seventeen percent of the population is unaffiliated with any religious body. Small minorities of Jehovah’s Witnesses (1%), Jews (1%), Muslims (1%), Hindus (>0.5%), Buddhists (>0.5%), Mormons (>0.5%) can also be found.

What is the economy of Ohio like?
Ohio has the seventh-largest economy of all US states. The gross domestic product (GDP) of Ohio in 2007 was $466 billion and the unemployment rate stood at 10.7 in May 2010. Within United States, it is the largest producer of ceramics, plastics, rubber, fabricated metals, electrical equipment and appliances.

Agriculture is an important industry, with major crops being soya beans, potatoes, grapes, peaches, strawberries, corn and hay. The state is also a leading producer of livestock products like turkey, cattle, and hogs.

Almost eighteen percent of the state’s GDP is composed of the manufacturing and financial sectors. Ohio has the largest bioscience sector in the Midwest, and is a national leader in the “green” economy. The state also has a sizeable aerospace and defense industry employing 16,000 people.

What are the symbols of the state of Ohio?

State bird:

Northern cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) is the official state bird. One of the favorite backyard birds of America, it was given the designation in 1933. It is also the state bird of seven other states: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia.

State flower:

Red carnation (Dianthus caryophyllus) is the official state flower of Ohio. It was formally adopted as the state flower in 1904 to honor President William McKinley who was assassinated in 1901; he liked to wear red carnations on the lapel of his jacket.

State animal:

The white-tailed deer is the official state animal. It was designated as a stat animal in 1988 by The Ohio General Assembly. Eleven other US states have adopted the white-tailed deer as their state animal.

State Flag:

Designed by John Eisemann, the Ohio state flag was officially adopted in 1902. The red and white stripes on the flag represent the roads and waterways of the state, respectively. The blue triangular field stands for the hills and valleys in the state. There are seventeen white stars within the triangle, of which the thirteen surrounding the circle are symbols of the original thirteen colonies, while the four at the apex of the triangle make the number seventeen referring to the fact that Ohio was the seventeenth state to enter the Union.

What are the famous places in Ohio?

There are many historical attractions in Ohio. The major tourist places of the state are:

  • Neil Armstrong Air and Space Museum, Wapakoneta
  • Air Force Museum, Dayton
  • King’s Island Amusement Park, Mason
  • Jack Nicklaus Sports Center, Mason
  • German Village, Columbus
  • Bob Evan’s Form, Rio Grande
  • Sea World, Aurora


Related Maps