US States Map > North Dakota Map > North Dakota State Profile

North Dakota State Profile

by Vishal Kumar

Where is North Dakota? North Dakota is a state located in the mid-western region of the United States, along the Canadian border. The state is bordered by the Canadian provinces…

Where is North Dakota?

North Dakota is a state located in the mid-western region of the United States, along the Canadian border. The state is bordered by the Canadian provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba on the north; by Minnesota on the east, South Dakota on the south; and on the west by Montana.

What is the capital of North Dakota?

Bismarck is the capital of North Dakota and is the second-most populous city in the state. The tallest building in the state, North Dakota State Capitol is located in the city.

What is the largest city in North Dakota?

With an estimated population of 105,549, Fargo is the largest city in North Dakota. The city covers an area of 37.9 square miles.

How big is North Dakota?

Covering an area of 70,700 square miles, North Dakota is the nineteenth-largest state in the United States. As of 2010, the state had an estimated population of 672,591.

What is the nickname of North Dakota?

North Dakota is officially nicknamed “The Peace Garden State.” The state adopted the nickname in 1957. The name can be found on the license plates in the state vehicles. It is also called the Flickertail State and the Roughrider State.

What are the political leaders of North Dakota?

Governor – Jack Dalrymple
Lieutenant Governor – Drew Wrigley

What is the official language of North Dakota?

English is the official language of North Dakota. In addition to English, German is spoken by 2.5% of the population.

What are the main religions practiced in North Dakota?

Christianity is the predominant religion in North Dakota. Roman Catholicism is the largest denomination followed by the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America and the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod. There are a number of Muslims and Jews in the state.

When did North Dakota achieve statehood?

North Dakota became part of the United States under the Louisiana Purchase of 1803. The present day boundaries of North Dakota were organized on March 2, 1861. With the entry of railroads in the region, the population increased and the region qualified to become a separate state. On February 22, 1889, a bill for statehood known as the Enabling Act was passed. Few months later on November 2, 1889, North and South Dakota were admitted to the Union.


What is the economy of North Dakota like?

Agriculture is the mainstay of the economy of North Dakota; the state is the second-largest producer of sugar-beets. It is the leading producer of many cereal grains such as barley (36%), durum wheat (58%), hard red spring wheat (48%), oats (17%), and honey, lentils, and edible beans. The state leads in the production of many oilseeds. The total gross domestic product of the state in 2010 was estimated at $33,400 million while the per capita income was $40,596.The energy sector is a major part of North Dakota’a economy. The state is the second-largest coal producing states in the United States. About ninety percent of electricity consumed in the state is generated by the coal reserves in Western North Dakota.

What are the famous places in North Dakota?

North Dakota is home to many beautiful and unique places that draw millions of tourists to the state each year. The Dickinson Museum Center, Fort Abraham Lincoln, North Dakota State Capitol, the city of Fargo, Devil’s Lake, and the North Dakota Heritage Center are the major attractions.

What are the state symbols of North Dakota?

State Flower:

The wild prairie rose (Rosa blanda or Rosa arkansana) was designated the official state flower of North Dakota in 1907. It is also the state flower of Iowa.

State Tree:

The American Elm is the official state tree of North Dakota. It was adopted as the state tree in 1947. Massachusetts also adopted the American elm as the state tree.

State Bird:

North Dakota designated the western meadowlark (Sturnella Neglecta) its official state bird in 1947. It is found across the western two-thirds of the continent and is also the state bird of Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Oregon, and Wyoming.

State Flag:

The state flag of North Dakota was officially adopted in 1911. The flag depicts a bald eagle holding an olive branch and a bundle of arrows in its claws. There is a ribbon that the eagle carries in its beak. On the eagle’s breast, is the state shield that has thirteen stripes representing the original thirteen states. Below the eagle is imprinted the name of the state on a red scroll. The fan shaped design above the eagle stands for the birth of a new nation, the United States.

Related Maps