Political Map of Mexico (Mapa del Estado de Mexico)

Click on the Map to visit States and Federal Districts
Political Map of Mexico (Mapa del Estado de Mexico)
Mexico City GUATEMALA BELIZE HONDURAS EL SALVADOR USA Baja California Baja California Sur Sonora Chihuahua Durango Sinaloa Nayarit Coahuila Zacatecas Nuevo Leon San Luis Potosi Tamaulipas Jalisco Aguascalients Yucatan Quintana Roo Campeche Chiapas Tabasco Oaxaca Guerrero Puebla Tlaxcala Distrito Federal Morelos Mexico State Queretaro Hidalgo Veracruz Guanajuato Colima Michoacan Aguascalientes Guanajuato Hidalgo Tlaxcala Puebla Queretaro Mexico Morelos Distrito Federal

Get Custom Mapping Quote at sales@mapsofworld.com

Description : Mexico Political map (Mapa del Estado de Mexico) showing the international boundary, states boundaries with their capitals and national capital.

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Located in southern North America, Mexico borders the United States of America to the north, Guatemala and Belize to the south, the Pacific Ocean to the west, and the Gulf of Mexico to the east. A rich cultural legacy and the vibrant history of an advanced civilization have shaped the modern nation of Mexico. Influenced by Indian and Spanish cultures, Mexico is a unique blend of two different distinct societies.

Majestic mountains, vast beaches, beautiful lakes, valleys, and deserts attract tourist to Mexico year-round. After three hundred years of Spanish colonial rule Mexico struggled for years after independence to gain political and economic stability. Mexico continues to work to overcome the economic disparity between the very rich and extremely poor.

Political History and Divisions
Mexico has a federal republic government with the president as head of the state and government. After the Mexican Revolution began in 1910, the Mexican constitution was adopted in 1917. The government is divided into three branches: judicial, executive, and legislative, which work independently in their respective spheres.

There are thirty-one states and one federal district. Each state is independent with a level of autonomy. Each state is further divided into municipalities, each with its own council, headed by a mayor. Mexico City is the federal district and also the national capital of Mexico.

Major Cities of Mexico
  • Mexico City: Mexico City is the largest city and national capital of Mexico, as well as a cultural, educational, financial, and political center.

  • Guadalajara: Guadalajara is the capital of the state of Jalisco, and is the second largest city of Mexico. This city is also one of the major commercial and industrial centers of Mexico, and a popular tourist destination.

  • Puebla: Puebla is the capital of the state of Puebla, which is famous for its petrochemical, automobile, and iron industries. Puebla is also known for its many churches.

  • Acapulco: Acapulco is one of the major tourist destinations of Mexico for its beaches and resorts.

Quick Facts of Mexico

Official NameUnited Mexican States
ContinentNorth America
Administrative Units31 States, one Federal District and 2438 Municipalities.
Population116,220,947 (July 2013 estimate)
Type of GovernmentFederal Republic
Head of the Government & StatePresident Enrique Pena Nieto (as of December 2012)
Declared Independence DaySeptember 16,1810
Recognized Independence DaySeptember 27, 1821
Major LanguageSpanish
Major ReligionRoman Catholicism
Dominant Political Parties National Action Party (PAN), Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI), Party of the Democratic Revolution (PAD)

Mexican States and Capitals (Mapa del Estado de Mexico)

Baja California2,844,46969,92126,997Mexicali
Baja California Sur512,17073,47528,369La Paz
Chiapas4,293,45974,21128,653Tuxtla Gutierrez
Distrito Federal8,720,9161,479571(Ciudad de) Mexico
Durango1,509,117123,18147,560(Victoria de) Durango
Guerrero3,115,20264,28124,819Chilpancingo (de los Bravos)
Hidalgo2,345,51420,8138,036Pachuca (de Soto)
Mexico14,007,49521,3558,245Toluca (de Lerdo)
Nuevo Leon4,199,29264,92425,067Monterrey
Oaxaca3,506,82193,95236,275Oaxaca (de Juarez)
Puebla5,383,13333,90213,090(Heroica) Puebla (de Zaragoza)
Queretaro1,598,13911,4494,420(Santiago de) Queretaro
Quintana Roo1,135,30950,21219,387(Ciudad) Chetumal
San Luis Potosi2,410,41463,06824,351San Luis Potosi
Sinaloa2,608,44258,32822,521Culiacan (Rosales)
Tamaulipas3,024,23879,38430,650Ciudad Victoria
Tlaxcala1,068,2074,0161,551Tlaxcala (de Xicohtencatl)
Veracruz7,110,21471,69927,683Xalapa (Enriquez)
32 divisions103,263,3881,958,201756,066
Note  : - Population: 2005-10-17 census. Source: INEGI


Last Updated on: February 24, 2020