Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Olympics / History / Tokyo 1964 Olympics

Tokyo 1964 Olympics

The City of Tokyo: Tokyo is the capital city of Japan. Tokyo is the centre of the most populous metropolitan area in the world. Tokyo is also a mega city and one of the world's major global cities. Tokyo includes two major parts- the main land and the islands. The mainland is located to the north-west of Tokyo Bay . The two island chains stretch into the Pacific Ocean

-- Izu Islands and Ogasawara Islands . Some of Tokyo's landmarks are Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Tower, Nogi Shrine, Advertising Museum Tokyo, Tsukiji Wholesale Fish Market, Hama - Rikyu Teien Garden, Tokyo Metropolitan Government Offices, Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden, Bunkamura the Museum and Meiji Shrine.

The Eighteenth Olympiad: The 1964 Summer Games were officially known as the Games of the XVIII Olympiad . The Games were held in Tokyo, the capital of Japan in the year 1964 . Tokyo was chosen as the host o the 1940 Summer Olympics. Due to Japan's involvement in war with China, the Games were reorganized in Helsinki . However, the 1940 Olympics were cancelled because of the outbreak of the World War II.

Venue: The Eighteenth Olympiad was held at the National Olympic Stadium in Tokyo in Japan . The stadium is located in Kusumigaoka Shinjuku-ku Tokyo . The stadium was built in the year 1958 as the Japanese National Stadium .

Participants: 5140 competitors from 93 countries took part in the eighteenth Olympiad . The participating countries were Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bermuda, Bolivia, Brazil, British Guiana, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Ceylon, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, P.R. Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d'lvoire, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Great Britain, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Lebanon, Liberia, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagaskar, Malaysia, Mali, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Northern Rhodesia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Rhodesia, Senegal, Spain, South Africa, South Korea, Soviet Union, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanganyika, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Republic, U.S.S.R., U.S.A., Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam and Yugoslavia.

Events: In the seventeenth Olympiad there were 163 events in 19 sports. Medals were awarded for athletics, basketball, boxing, canoeing, cycling, diving, equestrian, fencing, football, gymnastics, hockey, judo, modern pentathlon, rowing, shooting, swimming, volleyball, water polo, weightlifting, wrestling and yachting.

Medal Count: U.S.S.R. won the maximum number of medals in the Eighteenth Summer Games with a total of 96 medals ( 30 gold, 31 silver and 35 bronze) . United States won 36 gold medals . Japan, the host country won 29 medals in total with 16 gold medals.

A Brief Description of the Eighteenth Olympiad: The Eighteenth Summer Games were held from 10 th October to 24 th October in the year 1964 in Tokyo , the capital city of Japan. The Games were officially opened by HIM Emperor Hirohito . The athletes uttered Olympic oath led by Takashi Ona. In the stadium, the Olympic Flame was lit by Yoshinori Sakai . Tokyo was the first Asian city to host Summer Games .