Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Olympics / History / Antwerp 1920 Olympics

Antwerp 1920 Olympics

The City of Antwerp: The city of Antwerp is the capital of the Antwerp province in Flanders, one of Belgium's three regions. Antwerp is a centre of commerce in Flanders and Belgium. The city of Antwerp is on the right bank of the river Scheldt which is linked to the North Sea by the Westerschelde. Antwerp's port is one of the world's largest ports. It has a high level of cargo shipping and oil refineries. Some of the landmarks in Antwerp are Kathedraal, Groenplaats, Stadspark, Koningin Fabiolazaal, Grote Markt, Platentiun and Bourla Schouwburg.

The Seventh Summer Games: The 1920 Summer Olympics was officially known as the Games of the VII Olympiad . The Games were held in 1920 in Antwerp, Belgium . The 1916 Olympics, which was the sixth Olympiad , were scheduled to be held in Berlin . The Games were cancelled due to World War I. The city of Antwerp was chosen as the host of the seventh Olympics to memorialize Belgium for its suffering in World War I.

Venue: The 1920 Summer Games were held in the Olympisch Stadion in Antwerp . This stadium was built for the 1920 Summer Olympics to be used as the main stadium for the Games.

Participants: 2626 participants took part in the seventh Summer Games . The countries participating in the Games were Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Great Britain, Greece, India, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Monaco, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States and Yugoslavia.

Events: In the 1920 Olympics, there were 154 events in 22 sports. Medals were awarded for archery, athletics, boxing, cycling, diving, equestrian, fencing, figure skating, football, gymnastics, hockey, ice hockey, modern pentathlon, polo, rowing, rugby, shooting, swimming, tennis, tug of war, water polo, weight lifting, wrestling and yachting.

Medal Counts: United States became the winner of the 1920 Olympics wining 95 medals in total with 41 gold medals. Belgium won 38 medals with 16 gold medals.

A Brief Description of the Seventh Summer Games: The 1920 Summer Games were held in Antwerp, Belgium from 20 th April to 12 th September . The games were officially opened by Albert V of Belgium . In this Olympiad, Olympic oath was first time uttered by the athletes under Victor Boin . Olympic Flag was flown for the first time and also doves were released to symbolize peace. There was a week of winter sports, with figure skating and ice hockey.