Facts about Somalia

Official Name Somalia
Lat Long10 00 N, 49 00 E
Area637,657 km2 (246,200 sq mi)
Largest CityMogadishu
Official LanguagesSomalia and Arabic
Major ReligionSunni Muslim (Islam) (official, according to the Transitional Federal Charter)
National Day1 July (Foundation of the Republic, from Italy and the formation of Somali Republic 1960)
Form of GovernmentFederal parliamentary republic
PresidentMohamed Abdullahi Mohamed
Vice PresidentNA
Prime MinisterHassan Ali Khayre
GDP$5.896 billion 2010 estimate
Calling Code252
Time ZoneEAT (UTC+3) Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)
Internet TLD.so
Where is Somalia?
Somalia is on the easternmost edge of Africa on what is referred to as the Horn of Africa. Somalia has the Indian Ocean to the east, Ethiopia to the west, Djibouti to the northwest, Yemen across the Gulf of Aden to the north, and Kenya to the southwest
The total area of Somalia is 637,657 square kilometers (246,200 square miles).

What is the capital of Somalia?
Mogadishu is the capital of Somalia and its largest city. Mogadishu is located in the coastal region of Benadir and has been an important port for centuries. The name is thought to be derived from the Arabic word Maq'ad-u-Shah, meaning the seat of shah.

When did Somalia gain independence?
British Somaliland gained independence from Britain on June 26, 1960, and Italian Somaliland, which was then the Trust Territory of Somalia, gained independence from Italy just a few days after that on July 1, 1960. The two joined together on that day and formed the Somali Republic.

What is the population of Somalia?
Somalia is home to a population of about 10,085,638.

What is the religion of Somalia? The vast majority of Somalis are Sunni Muslims, with a smaller percentage of the population following the Shia Muslim denomination, and also Sufism. There are a small number of Christians as well. Most Christians in Somalia are from the Bantu ethnic group.

What languages are spoken in Somalia?
The official languages of Somalia are Somali and Arabic. Somali is the indigenous language of the people of this region, and an Afro-Asiatic language. There are three major dialects of Somali: Northern, Benadir, and Maay. Somalians also use Arabic, since the country has shared a long history in the Arab World.

What is the currency of Somalia?
The currency of Somalia is Somali Shilling or SOS, which has been in use since 1962.

Which is the largest city in Somalia?
The capital Mogadishu is the largest city in Somalia. Since the outbreak of civil war in Somalia, the city has seen a number of battles.


Last Updated on: July 11th, 2018