Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Somalia Map / Regions / Puntland Regions, Somalia

Puntland Regions, Somalia

The northeastern part of Somalia is known as Puntland from 1998, which is one of the important Somalia Regions. The capital of Puntland is Garowe.

Geographical Location of Puntland
The autonomous Puntland State is located on the east of Somalia. It is bordered in the west with the northwestern regions of Somalia, has the Gulf of Eden in the northern side of it. Ethiopia is located on the southwestern part of Puntland, while the Indian Ocean lies on the Southeastern part of Puntland. The total area of Puntland is estimated to be 212,510 km2. Puntland is made of seven regions which are Nugal, Ayn, Sool, Karkaar, Sanaag, Mudug and Bari.

State of Puntland
The political structure of the state of Puntland consists of a Legislature, which is made up of 66 members, a Judiciary and an Executive Body which consists of the President, the Vice President and other nine ministers.

Climate of Puntland
Puntland experiences a semi-arid type of climatic condition. The temperature of Puntland remains in between 27°C to 37°C. The annual precipitation in Puntland is very low. Puntland receives most of the rainfall in between April and June.

Puntland economy is primarily agriculture, livestock and fishery oriented, which are the major source of income for the region.

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at