Iran Facts

Know Facts about World Countries

Facts about Iran

Official NameIslamic Republic of Iran
Lat Long32 00 N, 53 00 E
Area1,648,195 Sq km (636,372 sq mi)
Largest CityTehran
Official LanguagesPersian
Major ReligionMuslim (official) 99.4% (Shia 90-95%, Sunni 5-10%), other (includes Zoroastrian, Jewish, and Christian) 0.3%, unspecified 0.4% (2011 est.)
National Day1 April (1979) Republic Day
Form of GovernmentIslamic republic de facto: Theocratic-republican hybrid; unitary presidential republic subject to a Supreme Leader
PresidentHassan Rouhani
Vice PresidentEshaq Jahangiri
Prime MinisterNA
CurrencyRial (IRR)
GDP$1.284 trillion (2014 Est.)
Calling Code98
Time ZoneIRST (UTC+3:30) Summer (DST) IRDT (UTC+4:30)
Internet TLD.ir

Where is Iran?
Iran is a country located in south-west Asia. It is bordered by Azerbaijan and Armenia to the north-west; the Caspian Sea to the north; Turkmenistan to the north-east; Pakistan and Afghanistan to the east; Turkey and Iraq to the west; and by Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman to the south.

What is the capital of Iran?
Teheran is the capital city of Iran. It is the largest city in the country and nineteenth-largest in the world. According to the 2010 census, the city had an estimated population of 8,429,807. The city has many historic mosques, churches, synagogues and Zoroastrian fire temples.

How big is Iran?
Covering an area of 636,000 square miles, Iran is the eighteenth-largest country in the world.

What is the population of Iran?
According to the 2011 estimate, Iran had a population of 75,330,000; it is the seventeenth-most populated nation in the world.

What are the ethnic groups in Iran?
About two-third of the population of Iran is of Aryan origin; Persians, Kurds, Lurs, and Baluchis are the major Arya groups. The country has a few people from Turkey. There are also a number of Arabs, Armenians, Jews, and Assyrians.

What are the administrative divisions of Iran?
Iran is divided into thirty one provinces that are further divided into counties, and subdivided into districts and sub-districts. The provinces are governed by their respective governors.

Who are the political leaders of Iran?
Iran is a unitary state and Islamic republic.
Supreme Leader - Ali Khamenei
President - Hassan Rowhani
Speaker of the Parliament - Ali Larijani
Chief Justice - Sadeq Larijani

What is the official currency used in Iran?
The rial denoted by the ISO 4217 code IRR is the official currency of Iran. It is sub-divided into 100 dinar. The rial has been the national currency of Iran since 1932.

What is the official language of Iran?
Persian is the de facto language of Iran; it is used for educational, administrative and business purposes. Many local languages such as Azeri, Kurdish, Arabic and Armenian are also spoken in the country.

What is the official religion of Iran?
The official religion of Iran is the Twelver Shia branch of Islam, practiced but almost ninety-five percent of the population. The non-Muslim religious minorities in the country include Baha'is, Mandeans, Hindus, Yezidis, Yarsanis, Zoroastrians, Jews, and Christians.

What is the economy of Iran like?
Iran has the eighteenth-largest economy in the world by purchasing power parity (PPP). In 2010, the gross domestic product (PPP) was estimated at $863.5 billion, while the per capita was $10,864. Oil and other large enterprises, agriculture, and small-scale private trading and service ventures are the main driving forces of Iranian economy. Manufacturing is an important industry; car-manufacture and transportation, construction materials, home appliances, agricultural goods, armaments, pharmaceuticals, power and petrochemicals are the major manufactured products. Tourism is also an important industry.

When is the national day of Iran celebrated?
The national day of Iran is celebrated on February 11. The day is celebrated to commemorate the Iranian revolution of 1979. It is also known as Islamic Revolution or the 1979 Revolution. On this day in 1979, the autocratic government led by Shah Mohammad Reza Pahlavi was overthrown and the country became an Islamic republic under the leadership of Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini.

Last Updated on: July 06, 2017