Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sports Events / Cricket / Teams / India Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

India Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup

Download Cricket World Cup Schedule in PDF

  • Download PDF

The biggest cricketing spectacle, the ninth World Cup, is going to start in over a month's time. Team India is a strong contender for the title of World Champions. Team India have made it to the final twice.
They lifted the trophy in 1983 but in 2003 they were beaten by the Australians. Team India would open their campaign this time against The Netherlands.

Team India played their first official Test match in 1932. In the beginning they lagged way behind the others but towards the latter half of the 20 th century they became a force to reckon with. During that period players like Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev took centre stage. In one dayers, India has a 50 per cent winning rate. India has won 300 of the 637 One-Day Internationals they have played till date. The game is the most popular sport in the country and the players are worshipped like gods.

India has announced its 15 member World Cup Squad. Here are the squad members:

India Cricket team Squad for Cricket World Cup 2015
Player NameDOBRoleBattingBowling
MS DhoniJul 7, 1981Captain, WicketkeeperRight Hand BatRight Arm Medium
Virat Kohli Nov 5, 1988Vice Captain, BatsmanRight Hand Bat Right Arm Medium
Suresh Kumar RainaNov 27, 1986Batsman Left Hand Bat Right Arm Offbreak
Rohit Sharma Apr 30, 1987Batsman Left Hand Bat Right Arm Offbreak
Ajinkya Rahane Jun 5, 1988Batsman Right Hand Bat Right Arm Medium
Shikhar Dhawan Dec 5, 1985Batsman Left Hand Bat Right Arm Offbreak
Ravindra Jadeja Dec 6, 1988All Rounder Left Hand Bat Left Arm Orthodox
Akshar PatelJan 20, 1994All Rounder Left Hand Bat Left Arm Orthodox
Stuart Terence Roger BinnyJun 3, 1984All Rounder Right-hand bat Right Arm Medium
Ambati Thirupathi RayuduSep 23, 1985Wicketkeeper BatsmanRight Hand Bat Right arm Offbreak
Mohammed Shami Mar 9, 1990Bowler Right Hand Bat Right Arm Fast Medium
Ishant SharmaSep 2, 1988Bowler Right Hand Bat Right Arm Fast Medium
Ravichandran AshwinSep 17, 1986All Rounder Right Hand BatRight Arm Offbreak
Bhuvneshwar KumarFeb 5, 1990Bowler Right Hand BatRight Arm Medium
Umeshkumar Tilak YadavOct 25, 1987Bowler Right-hand bat Right-arm fast-medium

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at