Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sports Events / Cricket / Teams / Bangladesh Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Bangladesh Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup

Download Cricket World Cup Schedule in PDF

  • Download PDF

Bangladesh has been playing cricket for a long period. However, it got international recognition much later; towards the end of the twentieth century. The Bangladesh Cricket Board supervises the Bangladesh national team.
It became an associate member of the International Cricket Council or the ICC in 1977. The team played its first One-Day International match against Pakistan in 1986. In 2000, the ICC granted them Test status. Bangladesh played their first Test against India in the same year.

Since 2000, Bangladesh has played 44 Tests. In the first 34 matches, the team managed only three draws. Bangladesh has a record losing streak of 21 games. However, on every occasion, the players of the Bangladeshi team have always given their best during the matches. The Bangladeshi team recorded its first and only Test victory over Zimbabwe in 2005. It was the 35 th Test played by the team. The same year, Bangladesh also won its first Test and ODI series. The team has won in 28 matches among the 143 ODIs it has played.

With the improvement Bangladesh has shown in its cricket, it can be hoped that in near future the nation will emerged as a major figure in world cricket. Bangladesh has qualified as one of the participating countries for the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup. The 15 member Bangladeshi squad for the World Cup has been announced. The players, who have made it to the list of fifteen are:

Bangladesh Cricket team Squad for Cricket World Cup 2015
Player NameDOBRoleBattingBowling
Mashrafe MortazaOct 5, 1983Captain, BowlerRight Hand BatRight Arm Fast
Tamim IqbalMar 20, 1989Vice Captain, Batsman Left Hand Bat  
Shakib Al HasanMar 24, 1987All RouderLeft Hand Bat Left Arm Orthodox
Mushfiqur RahimSep 1, 1988WicketkeeperRight Hand Bat 
Sabbir RahmanAug 20, 1991Batsman Right Hand BatLegbreak
Mohammad MahmudullahFeb 4, 1986All Rounder Right Hand BatRight Arm Offbreak
Nasir HossainNov 30, 1991All Rounder Right Hand BatRight Arm Offbreak
Mominul HaqueSep 29, 1991Batsman Left Hand Bat Left Arm Orthodox
Anamul HaqueDec 16, 1992WicketkeeperRight Hand Bat 
Al-Amin HossainJan 1, 1990Bowler Right Hand BatRight Arm Medium Fast
Taijul IslamFeb 7, 1992Bowler Left Hand Bat Slow Left arm orthodox
Taskin AhmedApr 3, 1995Bowler Left Hand Bat Right Arm Fast Medium
Soumya SarkarFeb 25, 1993All Rounder Left Hand Bat Right Arm Medium Fast
Rubel HossainJan 1, 1990Bowler Right Hand BatRight Arm Medium
Arafat SunnySep 29, 1986Bowler Left Hand Bat Slow Left arm orthodox

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064