US States Map > Wyoming Map > Wyoming State Profile

Wyoming State Profile

by Vishul Malik

Where is Wyoming? The US state of Wyoming is located in the western region of the country. It shares its borders with Montana to the north, South Dakota and Nebraska…

Where is Wyoming?

The US state of Wyoming is located in the western region of the country. It shares its borders with Montana to the north, South Dakota and Nebraska to the east, Colorado to the south, Utah to the southwest, and Idaho to the west. It is one big plateau which is divided by many mountain ranges. The Continental Divide dissects through the state from the northwest to the south central border.

How did Wyoming get its name?

Wyoming is derived from the Munsee name “Wamenk”, meaning “at the big river flat”. It is also named after the Wyoming Valley in Pennsylvanian.

What is the capital of Wyoming?

Cheyenne is the capital of Wyoming. It is the county seat of Laramie County and the most populous city of the state. In 2010, the population of the city was 59,466. It is home to the Wyoming State Capitol and one of the nation’s oldest air force bases, F.E. Warren Air Force Base.

How big is Wyoming?

Wyoming is the tenth-largest state in the United States. It covers an area of 97,814 square miles. It is the least populous state in the country, with an estimated population of 563,626. It also has the second-lowest population density, behind Alaska.

Which is the largest city of Wyoming?

The largest city of Wyoming is Cheyenne. It has an area of 21.2 square miles.

Why is Wyoming called “Equality State”?

Wyoming is known as the “Equality State” because it was the first state to grant voting rights to women. Wyoming women were the first to hold a public office.

What is the official language of Wyoming?

English is the official language of Wyoming.

What is the religion of Wyoming?

79% of the population in Wyoming is Christian, while 18% of the population has no religious affiliation. Other religions constitute the minority in the state.

Who is the political leader of Wyoming?

The government is divided into three main branches: the executive, legislative, and the judicial. The executive power is exercised by the governor and includes a secretary of state, auditor, treasurer, and superintendent of public instruction. The state does not have a lieutenant governor. Instead of the lieutenant governor, there is secretary of state.

Matt Mead is the 32nd and current governor of Wyoming. He assumed office on January 03, 2011. Max Maxfield is the current secretary of state. He was elected in 2006.

When did Wyoming achieve statehood?

Wyoming became a part of the American Union on July 10, 1890.

What are some of the famous places in Wyoming?

The US state of Wyoming has more than 500 sites listed in the National Register of Historic Places. It is home to the first National Park in the world. Some of the notable places in the state are Yellowstone National Park, Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming Dinosaur Center, Wyoming Transportation Museum, Oregon National Historic Trail, Fossil Butte National Monument, Independence Rock, Fort Fetterman State Historic Site.

What is the economy of Wyoming like?

The gross state product of the state in 2005 was $27.4 billion. In 2010, the unemployment rate in the state was 7.6 %. Extraction industry and travel and tourism are the most important sectors governing the economy of Wyoming. The mining output of the state includes coal, natural gas, coalbed methane, crude oil, and trona. The state is the number one producer of coal in the country and ranks second in the production of natural gas. It does not levy any individual or corporate income tax. Property owned for personal use is tax-free.

Related Maps