Home > South Korea Map > Political Map of South Korea

Political Map of South Korea

by Vishal Kumar

  South Korea, which is an Asian country, covers 98,480 square kilometers of area. The country experiences temperate climate. In the summer season there is heavy rainfall in South Korea.…

Political Map of South Korea


South Korea, which is an Asian country, covers 98,480 square kilometers of area. The country experiences temperate climate. In the summer season there is heavy rainfall in South Korea. The country is officially known as Republic of South Korea.

South Korea Features

South Korea is an Asian country. South Korea is positioned at the southern half of the Korean peninsula. The geographic coordinates of South Korea are 37° North latitude and 127° 30′ East longitude. The country has 2413 kilometers of coastline. In the South Korea political map, the administrative divisions, international and domestic boundaries, national capital have been clearly indicated.

South Korean Provinces and Province Capitals

There are nine South Korean provinces, which have been highlighted in the printable map of South Korea by various colors. The capitals of the provinces of the country are indicated in the political printable map of South Korea with white squares. The nine South Korean provinces are:

  • Cholla-namdo
  • Kyongsang-namdo
  • Cholla-bukto
  • Kyongsang-bukto
  • Ch’ungch’ong-bukto
  • Ch’ungch’ong-namdo
  • Kangwon-do
  • Kyonggi-do
  • Cheju-do

Some of the capitals of the South Korean provinces as indicated in the political map of South Korea are Ch’unch’on, Suwon, Ch’ongju, Taejon, Cheju, Ch’angwon, Chonju.

Apart from the provinces there are seven metropolitan cities at South Korea, which are Inch’on-gwangyoksi (Inch’on), Pusan-gwangyoksi (Pusan), Kwangju-gwangyoksi (Kwangju), Taegu-gwangyoksi (Taegu), Soul-t’ukpyolsi (Seoul), Ulsan-gwangyoksi (Ulsan) and Taejon-gwangyoksi (Taejon).

South Korea Boundaries
South Korea shares land boundaries only with North Korea in the northern half of the country. The international boundaries of the country are indicated in the South Korea political map by black lines. In the southeastern part of the country there is Japan, which is separated from South Korea by Korea Strait. Yellow Sea is in the western side of the country.

South Korea Capital

Seoul is the capital of South Korea. The national capital has been marked with a red square box in the printable political South Korean map. The geographic coordinates of Seoul are37°33′ 59″North latitude and 126° 59′ 59″ East longitude. The national capital is 111 feet above sea level. Seoul is also the largest South Korean city and is located at Han River basin. Seoul is a lively city and is a popular spot for the tourists. Some of the cities that are close to Seoul are Kye-dong, Haengung-dong, Chong-dong, Mugyo-dong, Myongnyun-dong, Hawangsimni-dong, Sobinggo-dong, Chamsil, Apkujong-dong. The two airports that serve the national capital are Gimpo International airport and Incheon International airport.

New Hangeul McCune-R Population Area(km.²) Area(mi.²) New Old
Busan Pusan-gwangyŏksi 3,663,000 760 293 Busan Pusan
Chungcheongbuk-do Ch’ungch’ŏng-bukto 1,467,000 7,432 2,870 Cheongju Ch’ongju
Chungcheongnam-do Ch’ungch’ŏng-namdo 1,845,000 8,586 3,315 Daejeon Taejon
Daegu Taegu-gwangyŏksi 2,481,000 886 342 Daegu Taegu
Daejeon Taejŏn-gwangyŏksi 1,368,000 540 208 Daejeon Taejon
Gangwon-do Kangwŏn-do 1,487,000 16,502 6,371 Chuncheon Ch’unch’on
Gwangju Kwangju-gwangyŏksi 1,353,000 501 193 Gwangju Kwangju
Gyeonggi-do Kyŏnggi-do 8,984,000 10,135 3,913 Suwon Suwon
Gyeongsangbuk-do Kyŏngsang-bukto 2,725,000 19,024 7,345 Daegu Taegu
Gyeongsangnam-do Kyŏngsang-namdo 2,909,000 10,516 4,060 Changwon Ch’angwon
Incheon Inch’ŏn-gwangyŏksi 2,475,000 965 373 Incheon Inch’on
Jeju-do Cheju-do 513,000 1,846 713 Jeju Jeju
Jeollabuk-do Chŏlla-bukto 1,891,000 8,050 3,108 Jeonju Chonju
Jeollanam-do Chŏlla-namdo 1,996,000 11,987 4,628 Gwangju Kwangju
Seoul Soul-t’ŭkpyŏlsi 9,895,000 606 234 Seoul Soul
Ulsan Ulsan-gwangyŏksi 1,014,000 1,056 408 Ulsan Ulsan
16 divisions 46,066,000 99,392 38,375


Related Maps