Political Map of South Korea

Political Map of South Korea Seoul City NORTH KOREA TSUSHIMA (JAPAN) Busan Ulsan Gyeongsang Namdo Gwangju South Jeolla North Jeolla Seoul Incheon Gyeonggi Do Gangwon Do Chungcheong Bukdo Daejeon Chungcheong Namodo Daegu Gyeongsang Bukdo Jeju Do Ullung DO
Description : South Korea political map represents the international boundary, province boundary with their capitals, national capital and other important cities. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

South Korea, which is an Asian country, covers 98,480 square kilometers of area. The country experiences temperate climate. In the summer season there is heavy rainfall in South Korea. The country is officially known as Republic of South Korea.

South Korea Features
South Korea is an Asian country. South Korea is positioned at the southern half of the Korean peninsula. The geographic coordinates of South Korea are 37° North latitude and 127° 30' East longitude. The country has 2413 kilometers of coastline. In the South Korea political map, the administrative divisions, international and domestic boundaries, national capital have been clearly indicated.

South Korean Provinces and Province Capitals

There are nine South Korean provinces, which have been highlighted in the printable map of South Korea by various colors. The capitals of the provinces of the country are indicated in the political printable map of South Korea with white squares. The nine South Korean provinces are:
  • Cholla-namdo
  • Kyongsang-namdo
  • Cholla-bukto
  • Kyongsang-bukto
  • Ch'ungch'ong-bukto
  • Ch'ungch'ong-namdo
  • Kangwon-do
  • Kyonggi-do
  • Cheju-do
Some of the capitals of the South Korean provinces as indicated in the political map of South Korea are Ch'unch'on, Suwon, Ch'ongju, Taejon, Cheju, Ch'angwon, Chonju.

Apart from the provinces there are seven metropolitan cities at South Korea, which are Inch'on-gwangyoksi (Inch'on), Pusan-gwangyoksi (Pusan), Kwangju-gwangyoksi (Kwangju), Taegu-gwangyoksi (Taegu), Soul-t'ukpyolsi (Seoul), Ulsan-gwangyoksi (Ulsan) and Taejon-gwangyoksi (Taejon).

South Korea Boundaries
South Korea shares land boundaries only with North Korea in the northern half of the country. The international boundaries of the country are indicated in the South Korea political map by black lines. In the southeastern part of the country there is Japan, which is separated from South Korea by Korea Strait. Yellow Sea is in the western side of the country.

South Korea Capital
Seoul is the capital of South Korea. The national capital has been marked with a red square box in the printable political South Korean map. The geographic coordinates of Seoul are37°33' 59"North latitude and 126° 59' 59" East longitude. The national capital is 111 feet above sea level. Seoul is also the largest South Korean city and is located at Han River basin. Seoul is a lively city and is a popular spot for the tourists. Some of the cities that are close to Seoul are Kye-dong, Haengung-dong, Chong-dong, Mugyo-dong, Myongnyun-dong, Hawangsimni-dong, Sobinggo-dong, Chamsil, Apkujong-dong. The two airports that serve the national capital are Gimpo International airport and Incheon International airport.

New HangeulMcCune-RPopulationArea(km.²)Area(mi.²)NewOld
16 divisions46,066,00099,39238,375  

Note  : - Population, Area: 2000-11-01 census. Areas according to the Statesman's Yearbook 2006.

Last Updated on: October 13th, 2017