Facts about Cuba

ContinentNorth America
Lat Long21 30 N, 80 00 W
Area42,426 sq mi (109,884 km2)
Population11,031,433 (July 2015 est.)
Largest CityHavana
Official LanguagesSpanish
Major Religionnominally Roman Catholic 85%, Protestant, Jehovah's Witnesses, Jewish, Santeria
National Day20 May (1902)
Form of GovernmentMarxist-Leninist Socialist Republic
PresidentRaul Castro
Vice PresidentMiguel Diaz-Canel (First) G. M. Bejerano Portela (second)
Prime MinisterRaul Castro
CurrencyConvertible peso (CUC)
GDP$212 billion ( 2011 estimate)
Calling Code53
Time ZoneCST (UTC-5) Summer (DST) CDT (UTC-4)
Internet TLD.cu

Where is Cuba?
Cuba is the largest island in Caribbean. Cuba is neighbored by the United States and Bahamas to the north, Mexico to the west, the Cayman Islands and Jamaica to the south, and Haiti and the Dominican Republic on the island of Hispaniola to the southeast. The Republic of Cuba consists of Cuba, the Isla de la Juventud and many other archipelagos.

What is the capital of Cuba?
Havana is the capital of Cuba. Settled in sixteenth century by Spanish explorers, Havana is an important port and major commercial center of Cuba. Havana has often been described as three cities in one because of its three major areas: Old Havana, Vedado, and the suburban districts. Havana has a total population of almost 3 million inhabitants.

What is the largest city of Cuba?
The capital of Cuba, Havana, is also its largest city, followed by Santiago de Cuba.

What is the currency of Cuba?
Cuba had two official currencies: the Cuban convertible peso and the peso. The Cuban convertible peso is sometimes called the Cuban dollar. The convertible peso was introduced to reduce the circulation of foreign currency and serves as a tourist currency. The convertible peso was originally equal to one U.S. dollar. Cubans are paid a portion of their wages in each of the currencies, though they primarily the Cuban peso.

In order to avoid scams and confusion between the two currencies, the money is changed only in Cuban banks and official exchange bureau.

What is the official language of Cuba?
Because Cuba was a Spanish colony, the official language of Cuba is Spanish. Haitian Creole is the next most widely spoken language in Cuba.

What is the religion of Cuba?
Religion has long been a sensitive issue in Cuba. The largest organized religion in Cuba is Christianity, with an estimated 60 percent of the population following the Roman Catholic Church. Despite this, only a small portion of the population regularly attends church.

Although the government places some restrictions on the freedom of religion, Cubans practice variety of religions, including syncretic religions like Santeria, a small population of Jews, Muslims and the Baha'i.

What is the literacy rate in Cuba?
The literacy rate in Cuba is 99.8%

Who is the political leader of Cuba?
Raul Castro is currently the president of Cuba.

When is the national day of Cuba celebrated?
January 1 is celebrated as Cuban National day. On this day in 1959 present government in Cuba was established. The day marked the victory of the Revolution led by Fidel Castro.

What are the features of Cuba's economy?
Most of the industries in Cuba are controlled by the state. The service sector constitutes a major portion of the country's GDP.

Venezuela is Cuba's main import-partner, followed by China, Spain, Canada, the USA, and Brazil. Among other products, the country imports petroleum, machinery and chemicals. Major industries are sugar, tobacco, steel, cement and pharmaceuticals.


Last Updated on: July 16th, 2018