Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Football / Team / Switzerland National Football Team in the FIFA World Cup

Switzerland National Football Team in the FIFA World Cup

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats.

Switzerland National Football Team
Description : Map showing the journey of Switzerland national football team in FIFA world cups. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Switzerland Football History
Governed by the Swiss Football Association, the Swiss national football team made its FIFA World Cup debut in the second FIFA World Cup of 1934 held in Italy. Its ASF-SFV logo is an abbreviation of (ASF) Association Suisse de Football in French and Associazione Svizzera di Football in Italian and SFV is for Schweizerischer Fussballverband in German. Popularly known as Schweizer Nati, La Nati and Squadra nazionale in German, French, and Italian languages respectively, the national team hasn’t tasted any big success in their soccer playing career over a span of 80 years.

Despite their good show in not conceding any goal in the 2006 World Cup, the team was eliminated from the tournament after they lost 3-0 to Ukraine in a penalty shootout. It holds the record of being the only soccer team in the history of FIFA to have been eliminated without granting any goal. Another interesting record of the Swiss football team is of holding the opposition’s goal for 559 minutes in the World Cup. They started in the 2006 World Cup and never conceded any goal until the 2010 World Cup match against Chile that halted their goalless streak.

Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Switzerland’s Success Story
When we talk about Switzerland's national football team’s success, the 1924 Olympic Games’ silver medal has to be mentioned, which they earned while facing a 3-0 defeat at the hands of Uruguay. They entered the quarterfinals three times in the 1934, 1938, and 1954 FIFA World Cups but never went ahead to bag the title. Their recent years' performance has been impressive, with the team reaching round 1 of the European Championships of 1996, 2004, and 2008. The Swiss national team has qualified for the upcoming 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil and it would be interesting to see how this "defensive strategy" team fares in the tournament. This will be their 10th appearance in all the FIFA World Cups.

Switzerland squad
Goalkeepers:Diego Benaglio (Wolfsburg/GER)
Roman Buerki (Grasshopper)
Yann Sommer (Basel)
Defenders:Johan Djourou (Hamburg/GER)
Michael Lang (Grasshopper)
Stephan Lichtsteiner (Juventus/ITA)
Ricardo Rodriguez (Wolfsburg)
Fabian Schaer (Basel)
Philippe Senderos (Valencia/ESP)
Steve von Bergen (Young Boys)
Reto Ziegler (Sassuolo/ITA)
Midfielders:Tranquillo Barnetta (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER)
Valon Behrami (Napoli)
Blerim Dzemaili (Napoli)
Gelson Fernandes (Freiburg/GER)
Goekhan Inler (Napoli)
Xherdan Shaqiri (Bayern Munich/GER)
Valentin Stocker (Basel)
Forwards:Josip Drmic (Nurnberg/GER)
Mario Gavranovic (Zurich)
Admir Mehmedi (Freiburg)
Haris Seferovic (Real Sociedad/ESP)
Granit Xhaka (Borussia Moenchengladbach/GER)
On standby
Goalkeeper:Marwin Hitz (Augsburg/GER)
Defenders:Timm Klose (Wolfsburg)
Silvan Widmer (Udinese/ITA)
Midfielders and forwards:Eren Derdiyok (Bayer Leverkusen/GER)
Fabian Frei (Basel)
Pajtim Kasami (Fulham/ENG)
Pirmin Schwegler (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Switzerland’s performance in all FIFA World Cups:
World Cup YearWorld Cup Hosting NationFIFA QualificationQuarter Final BirthSemi Final BirthThird Place SecuredReached FinalTitle Won
2010South AfricaYesNo----
2002South KoreaNo-----
1994United StatesYesNo----
1974West GermanyNo-----
1930UruguayDid Not Play --- 
Total 19 World Cups93000

Last Updated : February 15, 2014

Teams Qualified for World Cup 2014
Algeria Croatia Mexico
Argentina Ecuador Netherlands
Australia England Nigeria
Belgium France Portugal
Bosnia-Herzegovina Germany Russia
Brazil Ghana South Korea
Cameroon Greece Spain
Chile Honduras Switzerland
Colombia Iran Uruguay
Costa Rica Italy USA
Cote d'Ivoire Japan