Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Football / Team / Costa Rica National Football Team 2014

Costa Rica National Football Team 2014

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats.

Costa Rica National Football Team
Description : Map showing the journey of Costa Rica national football team in FIFA world cups. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Costa Rica’s Football History : 
Costa Rica's national football team, also known as La Sele or Los Ticos, is governed by the Federación Costarricense de Fútbol, the football association of Costa Rica. The team marked their international debut against El Salvador in the Independence Centenary Games in September, 1921. They won the match by a massive margin of 7-0.
FIFA participation started in the year 1990 and till now it has qualified for four FIFA world cups. In Copa America it started playing in 1997 and up until now it has appeared in the tournament four times. In the popular CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football) championship, it has been playing since 1963 and appeared as a successful team grabbing three titles. In other international competitions like Copa Centro Americana or UNCAF National Cup, it has been playing since 1991 and has emerged as the most successful team in Central America grabbing 7 titles out of the 12.

The Costa Rica national football team appeared in the Olympics twice, once in the Summer Olympics held in 1980, Moscow, and the second time in the Summer Olympics of 1984 held in Los Angeles. Other than this, the country has separate football teams for Olympics under the age of 23 years that represent them in the Olympic Games.

Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Costa Rica Success Story : 
The football team is the third most successful team in CONCACAF and the most successful team in Central America. Though it hasn’t achieved any significant success in FIFA and Copa America tournaments, the team has made its country proud in other international contests. Besides grabbing titles in the CONCACAF championship and UNCAF National Cup, it has finished as runners-up once, entered semi finals once and in quarter finals five times in CONCACAF tournament and finished as runner-ups four times in UNCAF National Cup, respectively. The team also had a great run in CCCF Championship emerging as winners seven times from 1941 to 1961 and finished runners-up once in 1951. Besides all the above mentioned, the team has maintained its record in the Pan American Games. The Costa Rica national football team has qualified for the 2014 FIFA World Cup and is all pumped up to show its mettle on the global front.

Costa Rica squad
Goalkeepers: Keilor Navas (Levante)
Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense)
Daniel Cambronero (Herediano)
Defenders: Johnny Acosta (Alajuelense)
Giancarlo Gonzalez (Columbus Crew)
Michael Umana (Saprissa)
Oscar Duarte (Brugge)
Waylon Francis (Columbus Crew)
Heiner Mora (Saprissa)
Junior Diaz (Mainz)
Christian Gamboa (Rosenborg)
Roy Miller (Red Bull New York)
Kendall Waston (Saprissa)
Midfielders: Celso Borges (AIK)
Christian Bolanos (Copenhaguen)
Oscar Esteban Granados (Herediano)
Michael Barrantes (Aalesund)
Yeltsin Tejeda (Saprissa)
Diego Calvo (Valerenga)
Jose Miguel Cubero (Herediano)
Carlos Hernandez (Wellington Phoenix)
Forwards: Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake)
Bryan Ruiz (PSV Eindhoven)
Joel Campbell (Olympiacos)
Randall Brenes (Cartagines)
Marco Urena (Kuban Krasnodar)

Costa Rica’s performance in all the FIFA World Cups : 
World Cup YearWorld Cup Hosting NationFIFA QualificationQuarter Final BirthSemi Final BirthThird Place SecuredReached FinalTitle Won
2010South AfricaNo-----
2002South KoreaYesNo----
1994United StatesNo-----
1974West GermanyNo-----
1954SwitzerlandDid Not Enter-----
1950BrazilDid Not Enter-----
1938FranceDid Not Enter-----
1934ItalyDid Not Enter-----
1930UruguayDid Not Enter-----
Total19 World Cups300000

Last Updated : December 13, 2013

Teams Qualified for World Cup 2014
Algeria Croatia Mexico
Argentina Ecuador Netherlands
Australia England Nigeria
Belgium France Portugal
Bosnia-Herzegovina Germany Russia
Brazil Ghana South Korea
Cameroon Greece Spain
Chile Honduras Switzerland
Colombia Iran Uruguay
Costa Rica Italy USA
Cote d'Ivoire Japan