Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Football / Team / Honduras National Football Team 2014

Honduras National Football Team 2014

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats.

Honduras National Football Team
Description : Map showing the journey of Honduras national football team in FIFA world cups. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Honduras Football History : 
Honduras' national football team also known by the nickname Los Catrachos, La Bicolor, is governed by the National Autonomous Federation of Football of Honduras (Federación Nacional Autónoma de Fútbol de Honduras). It represents the country in all the international football competitions.
In the FIFA World Cup, they have played only twice, once in 1982 and once in 2010. In the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament, it started participating in 1991 and emerged as a strong team with its brilliant understanding of the game but failed to grab any title. The team debuted in the Copa Centroamericana in the year 1991. In the Copa America tournament, the team was invited to play only once in 2001. The team has also been participating in the Pan American Games since 1991 and the Central American and Caribbean Games since 1930. Organized by UNCAF and ORDEGA, the Central American Games were first played by Honduras in the year 1973.

Other than the above mentioned tournaments, the national football team of Honduras also played and grabbed the title once in the Independence Cup in 2010 and once in the Carlsberg Cup in 2002. For the Olympics, there is a separate under-23 team which represents Honduras. The team qualified three times for the Olympics in 2000, 2008, and 2012. Built in 1997, Honduras plays most of their fixtures at the Estadio Olimpico Metropolitano stadium in the San Pedro Sula city that has a capacity to seat 53,000 spectators.

Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Honduras Success Story : 
The FIFA and Copa America record of Honduras is way below average so far while in other competitions it has successfully garnered praises all over the country. In the CONCACAF Gold Cup, it entered the semi-finals four times, quarter-finals twice and finished at 2nd once in 1991. In the Copa Centroamericana, it has grabbed three titles in 1993, 1995 and 2011 and finished at 2nd place thrice in the tournament. In the Pan American games, the results are unimpressive so far, while in the Central American Games (UNCAF) it emerged the winner thrice and finished at 2nd place two times. Honduras has qualified for the 2014 FIFA World Cup through the CONCACAF qualification rounds.

Honduras squad
Goalkeepers: Noel Valladares
Donis Escober (both Olimpia)
Luis Lopez (Real Espana)
Defenders: Brayan Beckeles (Olimpia)
Emilio Izaguirre (Celtic/Scotland)
Juan Carlos Garcia (Wigan/England)
Maynor Figueroa (Hull City/England)
Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes/USA)
Osman Chavez (Qingdao Janoon/China PR)
Juan Pablo Montes (Motagua)
Midfielders: Arnold Peralta (Rangers/Scotland)
Luis Garrido (Olimpia)
Roger Espinoza (Wigan/England)
Jorge Claros (Motagua)
Wilson Palacios (Stoke/England)
Oscar Garcia (Houston Dynamo/USA)
Andy Najar (Anderlecht/Belgium)
Mario Martinez (Real Espana)
Marvin Chavez (Colorado Rapids/USA)
Forwards: Jerry Bengtson (New England Revolution/USA)
Jerry Palacios (Alajuelense/Costa Rica)
Carlo Costly (Real Espana)
Rony Martinez (Real Sociedad/Spain)

Honduras performance in all FIFA World Cups : 
World Cup YearWorld Cup Hosting NationFIFA QualificationQuarter Final BirthSemi Final BirthThird Place SecuredReached FinalTitle Won
2010South AfricaYesNo----
2002South KoreaNo-----
1994United StatesNo-----
1974West GermanyNo-----
1958SwedenDid Not Enter-----
1954SwitzerlandDid Not Enter-----
1950BrazilDid Not Enter-----
1938FranceDid Not Enter-----
1934ItalyDid Not Enter-----
1930UruguayDid Not Enter-----
Total19 World Cups200000

Last Updated : December 13, 2013

Teams Qualified for World Cup 2014
Algeria Croatia Mexico
Argentina Ecuador Netherlands
Australia England Nigeria
Belgium France Portugal
Bosnia-Herzegovina Germany Russia
Brazil Ghana South Korea
Cameroon Greece Spain
Chile Honduras Switzerland
Colombia Iran Uruguay
Costa Rica Italy USA
Cote d'Ivoire Japan