Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Football / Team / South Korea National Football Team 2014

South Korea National Football Team 2014

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats.

South korea National Football Team
Description : Map showing the journey of South Korea national football team in FIFA world cups. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

South Korea's Football History
South Korea national football team is controlled by Korea Football Association and represents country in international football tournaments. The team is also known as among the fans and media by the nickname "The Reds" due to the color of their primary kit.
South Korea is the most successful team in Asia and has successfully qualified in eight consecutive World Football Cup tournaments (1986-2014) besides appearing once in 1954. In the Confederations Cup, it happens to appear only once in 2001. In AFC Asian Cup the team started participating from the year 1956 and is still playing with decent success rate. In EAFF East Asian Cup, the team started contesting from 2003 and appeared five times since then.

Olympic participation started from the year 1948 and continued till 1988. Since the year 1992, football at the Olympics became an under-23 tournament for all teams. The under 23-football team's best result was in 2012 Summer Olympics when they grabbed Bronze medal. In Asian Games, record of national football team is excellent so far grabbing three gold medals in 1970, 1978 and 1986. They also grabbed three times silver medal consecutively from 1954-1962 and bronze medal once in the year 1990. The team also won the Dynasty Cup title once in 1990.

Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
South Korea success story
In the year 2002, South Korea national football team became first in Asia to reach the semi-finals of the World Football Cup which they co-hosted with Japan. In AFC Asian Cup, the team became champions twice in a row in 1956 and 1960 and finished runners-up thrice. In EAFF East Asian Cup, the team has got significant achievement winning title twice in 2003 and 2008 and finishing as runners-up in 2013. The team was also awarded with the title of World Football Cup's Most Entertaining Team in the year 2002. South Korean national football team has qualified for the upcoming World Football Cup which will be held in Brazil.

Korea Republic squad
Goalkeepers: Jung Sungryong (Suwon Bluewings)
Kim Seunggyu (Ulsan Hyundai)
Lee Bumyoung (Busan IPark)
Defenders: Hong Jeongho (Augsburg/Germany)
Hwang Seoho (Sanfrecce Hiroshima/Japan)
Kim Changsoo (Kashiwa Reysol/Japan)
Kim Jinsoo (Albirex Niigata/Japan)
Kim Younggwon (Guangzhou Evergrande/China PR)
Kwak Taehwi (Al Hilal/Saudi Arabia)
Lee Yong (Ulsan Hyundai)
Yun Sukyoung (Queens Park Rangers/England)
Midfielders: Ha Daesung (Beijing Guoan/China PR)
Han Kookyoung (Kashiwa Reysol/Japan)
Ji Dongwon (Augsburg/Germany)
Ki Sungyueng (Sunderland/England)
Kim Bokyung (Cardiff City/England)
Lee Chungyong (Bolton Wanderers/England)
Park Jongwoo (Guangzhou R&F/China PR)
Son Heungmin (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany)
Forwards: Kim Shinwook (Ulsan Hyundai)
Koo Jacheol (Mainz/Germany)
Lee Keunho (Sangju Sangmu)
Park Chuyoung (Watford/England)

South Korea performance in all World Football Cups : 
World Cup YearWorld Cup Hosting NationFIFA QualificationQuarter Final BirthSemi Final BirthThird Place SecuredReached FinalTitle Won
2010South AfricaYesNo----
2002South KoreaYesYesYesNoNo-
1994United StatesYesNo----
1974West GermanyNo-----
1966EnglandDid Not Enter-----
1958SwedenEntry Denied-----
1950BrazilDid Not Enter-----
1938FranceDid Not Enter-----
1934ItalyDid Not Enter-----
1930UruguayDid Not Enter-----
Total19 World Cups811000

Last Updated : January 24, 2014

Teams Qualified for World Cup 2014
Algeria Croatia Mexico
Argentina Ecuador Netherlands
Australia England Nigeria
Belgium France Portugal
Bosnia-Herzegovina Germany Russia
Brazil Ghana South Korea
Cameroon Greece Spain
Chile Honduras Switzerland
Colombia Iran Uruguay
Costa Rica Italy USA
Cote d'Ivoire Japan