Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Football / Team / Nigeria National Football Team 2014

Nigeria National Football Team 2014

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats.

Nigeria National Football Team
Description : Map showing the journey of Nigeria national football team in FIFA world cups. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Nigeria�s Football History : 
Nigeria's national football team, known by the nickname "Super Eagles," is controlled by the Nigeria Football Federation and represents the country in international football competitions. Abuja National Stadium is the home ground of the Nigerian soccer team and is also used for social, religious and cultural events.
It is located in Abuja, the fast growing Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria. Its participation in the World Football Cup started in the year 1994 and up until now the team appeared four times in the mega tournament. In the Confederations Cup, the team has played twice in 1995 and 2013. In the regional tournament of Africa, Cup of Nations, the team started playing in 1963 and has appeared 17 times in the tournament so far.

Currently the team ranks 33rd in the Soccer World Rankings and the highest position it earned was during April 1994 when it reached the 5th spot, the highest ranking achieved by any African team. As per World Football Elo Ratings, the national football team currently sits at the 30th position. In the 1996 Atlanta Summer Olympics, the team became the first African soccer team to grab a gold medal at the Summer Olympic Games. The national team of Nigeria also participated in several other intercontinental, continental and sub-continental games. The team won the CEDEAO Cup twice (1977, 1990), won the Jalco Cup five times (1951, 1954, 1956, 1957, 1958), won the LG Cup once (2003) and won the Nelson Mandela Challenge once (2013).

Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Nigeria's Success Story : 
There is not much to say about the achievement of Nigerian national football team in World Football Cup apart from that the team was able to reach the round of 16 twice. In the Confederations Cup, the team finished at fourth in 1995. The major achievement it gained was in the Africa Cup of Nations where the team emerged as winners three times in 1980, 1994, and latest in 2013. In the same tournament the team finished runners-up four times (1984, 1988, 1990, and 2000). Besides this, the national football team of Nigeria has grabbed the Afro-Asian Cup of Nations title in 1995 and earned gold and silver medals in the All-Africa Games held in 1973 and 1978 respectively. Nigeria will be appearing for the fifth time in the World Football Cup which will be held in Brazil next year.

Nigeria squad
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille/FRA)
Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be'er Sheva/ISR)
Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United)
Daniel Akpeyi (Warri Wolves)
Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco/FRA)
Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC/SCO)
Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor/TUR)
Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves)
Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough/ENG)
Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC/ISR)
Joseph Yobo (Norwich City/ENG)
Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars)
Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Chelsea/ENG)
Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio/ITA)
Ramon Azeez (Almeria/SPA)
Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers)
Gabriel Reuben (Beveren/BEL)
Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis/SPA)
Joel Obi (Parma/ITA)
Michael Uchebo (Cercle Brugge/BEL)
Sunday Mba (CA Bastia/FRA)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow/RUS)
Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United/ENG)
Victor Moses (Liverpool/ENG)
Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce/TUR)
Obinna Nsofor (Chievo Verona/ITA)
Peter Osaze Odemwingie (Stoke City/ENG)
Babatunde Michael (Volyn/UKR)
Nnamdi Oduamadi (Varese/ITA)
Uche Nwofor (Heerenveen/NED)

Nigeria's Performance in all World Football Cups : 
World Football Cup YearWorld Football Cup Hosting NationWorld Football Cup QualificationQuarter Final BirthSemi Final BirthThird Place SecuredReached FinalTitle Won
2010South AfricaYesNo----
2002South KoreaYesNo----
1994United StatesYesNo----
1974West GermanyNo-----
1958SwedenDid Not Enter-----
1954SwitzerlandDid Not Enter-----
1950BrazilDid Not Enter-----
1938FranceDid Not Enter-----
1934ItalyDid Not Enter-----
1930UruguayDid Not Enter-----
Total19 World Football Cups400000

Last Updated : December 31, 2013

Teams Qualified for World Cup 2014
Algeria Croatia Mexico
Argentina Ecuador Netherlands
Australia England Nigeria
Belgium France Portugal
Bosnia-Herzegovina Germany Russia
Brazil Ghana South Korea
Cameroon Greece Spain
Chile Honduras Switzerland
Colombia Iran Uruguay
Costa Rica Italy USA
Cote d'Ivoire Japan