Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Football / Team / Uruguay National Football Team 2014

Uruguay National Football Team 2014

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats.

Uruguay National Football Team
Description : Map showing the journey of Uruguay national football team in FIFA world cups. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Uruguay Football History : 
The Uruguayan national football team nicknamed as La Celeste (The Sky Blue One) is controlled by the Uruguayan Football Association, the governing body responsible for soccer in the country. The team represents the country in international football competitions. Its participation in the World Football Cup started in the year 1930 and since then it has appeared 11 times in the tournament.
In the Confederations Cup, the team played only twice in 1997 and 2013. In the South American Championship, it first took part in 1916 and played successfully till 1967. In regional tournaments like Copa America, participation started in 1975 and it qualified for all 14 championships up until now. In the Pan American Games, the team started contesting from 1963 and is still playing fantastic overall football. Estadio Centenario is the home ground of the mighty Uruguayan national football team and is situated in the Parque Batlle near Montevideo, Uruguay. The team holds the record of being never beaten at their home ground by any European team and even the champion side of Brazil was able to beat them only thrice in 20 encounters.

Presently the team stands at 6th position in World Football Rankings and the highest rank it achieved was 2nd in June 2012. As per World Football Elo Ratings, it is currently placed at the 9th spot while it earned the top spot several times during 1920 - 1930. The national football team of Uruguay has been participating in the Summer Olympics since 1924. The team fetched a gold medal twice in a row in 1924 and 1928 respectively. The Uruguayan national football team has been part of several minor tournaments and earned immense achievements in these tournaments.

Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Uruguay's Success Story : 
Uruguay is one of the strongest football teams in the world and the winner of the World Football Cup title two times, in 1930 and 1950. The success story continues in the South American Championship where it has won 11 titles out of 27 competed, and finished runners-up four times. This championship is considered as the most successful in its career so far. In the Copa America tournament, it became champions four times and finished runners-up twice. In the Pan American Games, the team won the title in 1983. The team with its strong vision and impeccable performance has qualified for the upcoming World Football Cup in Brazil.

Uruguay squad
Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray/Turkey)
Martin Silva (Vasco Da Gama/Brazil)
Rodrigo Munoz (Libertad/Paraguay)
Defenders: Diego Lugano (West Bromwich Albion/England)
Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid/Spain)
Jose Maria Gimenez (Atletico Madrid/Spain)
Martin Caceres (Juventus/Italy)
Maximiliano Pereira (Benfica/Portugal)
Jorge Fucile (Porto/Portugal)
Sebastian Coates (Nacional)
Midfielders: Egidio Arevalo Rios (Morelia/Mexico)
Walter Gargano (Parma/Italy)
Diego Perez (Bologna/Italy)
Sebastian Eguren (Palmeiras/Brazil)
Alvaro Gonzalez (Lazio/Italy)
Alejandro Silva (Lanus/Argentina)
Alvaro Pereira (San Pablo/Brazil)
Cristian Rodriguez (Atletico Madrid/Spain)
Gaston Ramirez (Southampton/England)
Nicolas Lodeiro (Botafogo/Brazil)
Forwards: Luis Suarez (Liverpool/England)
Edinson Cavani (PSG/France)
Diego Forlan (Cerezo Osaka/Japan)
Cristian Stuani (Espanyol/Spain)
Abel Hernandez (Palermo/Italy)
David Villa

Uruguay's Performance in all World Football Cups : 
World Football Cup YearWorld Football Cup Hosting NationWorld Football Cup QualificationQuarter Final BirthSemi Final BirthThird Place SecuredReached FinalTitle Won
2010South AfricaYesYesYesNoNo-
2002South KoreaYesNo----
1994United StatesNo-----
1974West GermanyYesNo----
1938FranceDid Not Enter-----
1934ItalyDid Not Enter-----
Total19 World Football Cups1165022

Last Updated : December 31, 2013

Teams Qualified for World Cup 2014
Algeria Croatia Mexico
Argentina Ecuador Netherlands
Australia England Nigeria
Belgium France Portugal
Bosnia-Herzegovina Germany Russia
Brazil Ghana South Korea
Cameroon Greece Spain
Chile Honduras Switzerland
Colombia Iran Uruguay
Costa Rica Italy USA
Cote d'Ivoire Japan