Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Football / Team / Spain National Football Team 2014

Spain National Football Team 2014

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats.

Spain National Football Team
Description : Map showing the journey of Spain national football team in FIFA world cups. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Spain Football History : 
Presently under the leadership of head coach Vicente Del Bosque; the Spanish national football team’s operations are governed by the Royal Spanish Football Federation. The team is commonly called La Furia Roja (The Red Fury), La Roja (The Red), La Furia Espanola (The Spanish Fury) or sometimes as La Furia (The Fury).
Even before the foundation of Spanish Football Federation in 1909, it became a member of FIFA in 1904. They marked their international debut against Denmark at Stade Joseph Marien in Brussels, Belgium, on 28th August, 1920. They won this match by 1-0 and eventually registered their first win at the Summer Olympics.

Since their debut in the international arena, the Spanish national football team has played a total of 13 FIFA World Cup tournaments and 9 European Championships. Their success can be better understood with the fact that they have won 73 titles in both youth and senior teams. In the Confederations Cup, they share the record of being the only country besides Brazil to have won 35 consecutive matches from November, 2006 to June, 2009, before United States applied decisive brakes on their unprecedented run.

Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Teams Qualified for World Football Cup 2014
Spain’s Success Story : 
Undoubtedly one of the most successful football teams, Spain’s success ratio in the past decade has been commendable. Presently, they are the defending champions of the 2010 FIFA World Cup and Euro 2012 tournaments. They currently hold the record of consecutive unbeaten matches at 29. In this journey, they started from the 2010 FIFA World Cup, continued in the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup and are still on. They also hold the world record of winning 15 consecutive matches. The win at the 2010 FIFA World Cup made them the only team outside Europe to clinch the apex title. Besides other records, they also hold the record of being only the second nation apart from Brazil to have lifted the FIFA trophy outside their home continent. They are presently ranked no. 1 in FIFA rankings and no. 2 in the Elo ranking. Almost all the experts and former players believe that the present Spanish football team is the best ever international football team in the world.

Spain squad
Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas
David de Gea
Pepe Reina
Defenders: Jordi Alba
Raul Albiol
Cesar Azplicueta
Dani Carvajal
Alberto Moreno
Gerard Pique
Sergio Ramos
Midfielders: Sergio Busquets
Santi Cazorla
Cesc Fabregas
Andres Iniesta
Ander Iturraspe
Javi Martinez
Juan Mata
Jesus Navas
David Silva
Tiago Alcantara
Xabi Alonso
Forwards: Diego Costa
Fernando Llorente
Alvaro Negredo
Fernando Torres
David Villa

Spain’s performance in all FIFA World Cups : 
World Cup YearWorld Cup Hosting NationFIFA QualificationQuarter Final BirthSemi Final BirthThird Place SecuredReached FinalTitle Won
2010South AfricaYesYesYesNoYesWon
2002South KoreaYesYesNo---
1994United StatesYesYesNo---
1974West GermanyNo-----
1930UruguayDid not enter-----
Total19 World Cups1362011

Last Updated : December 13, 2013

Teams Qualified for World Cup 2014
Algeria Croatia Mexico
Argentina Ecuador Netherlands
Australia England Nigeria
Belgium France Portugal
Bosnia-Herzegovina Germany Russia
Brazil Ghana South Korea
Cameroon Greece Spain
Chile Honduras Switzerland
Colombia Iran Uruguay
Costa Rica Italy USA
Cote d'Ivoire Japan