Home > Sporting Events 2019 > Football (Soccer) Games Information > Teams Qualified for World Cup 2018 > Netherlands National Football Team in the FIFA World Cup

Netherlands National Football Team in the FIFA World Cup

by poonam bisht

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats. Download Download xls Download doc Netherlands Football History Known by many other names in the…

Netherlands National Football Team

Download match schedule for 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in PDF, XLS and DOC formats.

Netherlands Football History

Known by many other names in the world like the Dutch and Holland, Netherlands has been a strong team in the game of soccer. The Royal Dutch Football Federation is the body responsible for managing the football affairs of the national team.

The country played their first international football match against the neighboring nation, Belgium in Antwerp on 30th April, 1905. Netherlands won this match by 4-1. Starting their journey with the 1934 FIFA World Cup and then qualifying for the 1938 World Cup, the European nation had to wait until the 1974 World Cup to represent their country again on the international stage.

In their success story till date, the Total Football concept has to be largely applauded, which came to the international scene in the 1970s when Ajax coach Rinus Michels took over the training role of the national football team. TheTotal Football tag is given to the tactic in football in which the role of any player is taken over by an outfield player. The only fixed position in such type of strategy is of Goalkeeper. Whenever a player changes his position, another player takes his place so that the organisation of the planned field remains intact.

Netherlands Success Story

Despite reaching the finals three times, the Dutch never got the opportunity to lift the World Cup. The team outplayed every other team in the 2010 World Cup qualifiers and became the only European team to qualify for the apex tournament. There was no stopping for Netherlands even in the 2010 World Cup, as the team registered straight wins over Denmark and Japan to reach the final 16. They continued with the 2-1 win over Slovakia in first knockout game and another 2-1 victory over World Cup favorites, Brazil. The task was daunting but the Oranje carried their game where they left in their previous match against Brazil to defeat Uruguay by 3-2 in the semi finals and booked their tickets to the final. Thinking of remaining undefeated in the tournament, Netherlands’ plans were shattered by the shocking Spanish 1-0 win in the 2010 World Cup final. It remains the only team in history that held the number One position in FIFA rankings (August – September 2011) without winning any World Cup title. Will Netherlands break the jinx this time? They have taken the first step as they have qualified for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Netherlands squad

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax)
Tim Krul (Newcastle United/ENG)
Michel Vorm (Swansea City/ENG)
Jeroen Zoet (PSV Eindhoven)
Defenders: Patrick van Aanholt (Vitesse Arnhem)
Daley Blind (Ajax), Daryl Janmaat
Terence Kongolo
Bruno Martins Indi (all Feyenoord)
Karim Rekik (PSV Eindhoven)
Joël Veltman (Ajax)
Paul Verhaegh (Augsburg/GER)
Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa/ENG)
Stefan De Vrij (Feyenoord)
Midfielders: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord)
Leroy Fer (Norwich City/ENG)
Jonathan De Guzman (Swansea City/ENG)
Nigel de Jong (AC Milan/ITA)
Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray/TUR)
Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord)
Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburg/GER)
Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV Eindhoven)
Forwards: Jean-Paul Boëtius (Feyenoord)
Memphis Depay (PSV Eindhoven)
Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04/GER)
Dirk Kuijt (Fenerbahce/TUR)
Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev/UKR)
Robin van Persie (Manchester United/ENG)
Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/GER)
Quincy Promes (FC Twente)


Netherlands’ performance in all FIFA World Cups:


World Cup Year World Cup Hosting Nation FIFA Qualification Quarter Final Birth Semi Final Birth Third Place Secured Reached Final Title Won
2010 South Africa Yes Yes Yes No Yes Lost
2006 Germany Yes No
2002 South Korea No
1998 France Yes Yes Yes No
1994 United States Yes Yes No
1990 Italy Yes No
1986 Mexico No
1982 Spain No
1978 Argentina Yes Yes Yes No Yes Lost
1974 West Germany Yes Yes Yes No Yes Lost
1970 Mexico No
1966 England No
1962 Chile No
1958 Sweden No
1954 Switzerland Did Not Play
1950 Brazil
1938 France Yes No
1934 Italy Yes No
1930 Uruguay Did Not Play
Total Times 19 World Cups 9 5 4 0 3 0


Related Maps