Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Moldova Map / Political Map of Moldova

Political Map of Moldova

Moldova is an Eastern European nation that shares borders with Romania and Ukraine. The capital of Moldova is Chisinau. The country is divided into thirty-two districts, three municipalities, and two autonomous regions.
Political Map of Moldova Chisinau Map Ukraine Map Romania Map
Description : Map showing the provinces of Moldova along with their boundaries and capitals. Disclaimer
Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Moldova is an Eastern European nation, bordered by Romania and Ukraine, and headquartered in its capital, Chisinau. There are thirty-seven major administrative units in Moldova: thirty-two districts, three municipalities, and two autonomous regions.

The districts of Moldova, or raioane, are listed below. These districts are each managed at the district level in the district seat, which is the city of the same name as the district.

Districts of Moldova
  • Anenii Noi
  • Basarabeasca
  • Briceni
  • Cahul
  • Cantemir
  • Calarasi
  • Causeni
  • Cimislia
  • Criuleni
  • Donduseni
  • Drochia
  • Dubasari
  • Edinet
  • Falasti
  • Floresti
  • Glodeni
  • Hincesti
  • Ialoveni
  • Leova
  • Nisporeni
  • Ocnita
  • Orhei
  • Rezina
  • Riscani
  • Singerei
  • Soroca
  • Straseni
  • Soldanesti
  • Stefan Voda
  • Taraclia
  • Telenesti
  • Ungheni

The municipalities of Moldova are Chisinau, Balti, and Bender. These are cities with a special status as first-level administrative units, similar to that of the districts. Chisinau is the capital of Moldova, and holds the special status as a result of this.

Gagauzia is considered an autonomous territorial unit, and is located in southern Moldova. Gagauzia has an area of 1,832 square kilometers (707 square miles). The population of Gagauzia is over 80 percent ethnic Gagauz.

Transnistria is another territory of Moldova, located in the north, along the border with Ukraine. Transnistria declared its independence in 1990, but is treated as an autonomous territory of Moldova, with a special legal status. After the War of Transnistria in 1992, the region's official status is unresolved.

Division Population Capital
Anenii Noi 81,719Anenii Noi
Balţi 127,673Balti
Basarabeasca 28,978Basarabeasca
Bender  Bender
Briceni 77,978Briceni
Cahul 119,201Cahul
Calarasi 75,167Calarasi
Cantemir 60,008Cantemir
Causeni 90,616Causeni
Chisinau 716,530Chisinau
Cimislia 60,936Cimislia
Criuleni 72,259Criuleni
Donduseni 46,437Donduseni
Drochia 87,083Drochia
Dubasari 34,004Cocieri
Edineţ 81,384Edineţ
Falesti 89,915Falesti
Floresti 89,406Floresti
Gagauzia 155,781Comrat
Glodeni 60,968Glodeni
Hincesti 119,765Hincesti
Ialoveni 97,759Ialoveni
Leova 51,161Leova
Nisporeni 64,945Nisporeni
Ocniţa 56,706Ocnita
Orhei 116,296Orhei
Rezina 48,112Rezina
Riscani 69,415Riscani
Singerei 87,158Singerei
Soroca 95,015Soroca
Stefan Voda 70,620Stefan Voda
Straseni 88,937Straseni
Taraclia 43,151Taraclia
Telenesti 70,022Telenesti
Transnistria 555,347Dubasari
Ungheni 110,750Ungheni
37 divisions 3,943,418
Note  : - Population: 2004-10-05 census preliminary results (source [3]). Population of Transnistria from 2004-11-13 census.


Last Updated On : March 13, 2013

Major Cities in Moldova

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at