Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Equatorial Guinea Map

Equatorial Guinea Map

Follow us on
facebookicon twitter-icon pintesticon
Equatorial Guinea Map

More Equatorial Guinea Maps

Before the arrival of the Bantu migration in the eighteenth and twentieth centuries, Equatorial Guinea was initially inhabited by pygmies. The Portuguese also came to the country and introduced the native Annobon. In 1778, Spain took over the territory and ruled until the United Kingdom came to the island in the early nineteenth century(1827-1843). In 1900, the region was made a colony and on October 12, 1968, the region was declared independent. Francisco Macias Nguema was made the first president of the nation.

For administrative purposes, Equatorial Guinea is divided into seven provinces that are further divided into districts. The provinces are:
Spanish, French, and Portuguese are the major languages spoken in the country. Many indigenous languages like Fang, Bube, Igbo, Benga, Ndowe, Pichinglis, Bujeba, Balengue, Bissio, and Gumu are also spoken.

Christianity is the dominant religion of the country with Roman Catholicism being the largest denomination followed by Protestants. There are also a number of Muslims and members of the Bahai faith in Equatorial Guinea.

Owing to the large oil reserves, the economy of Equatorial Guinea depends on oil production. As of 2004 estimate, the country is the third-largest oil producer in Sub-Saharan Africa. Fishing and forestry are the other major industries.
Last Updated : June 11,2020

The official flag of Equatorial Guinea was adopted on August 21, 1979. Flag of Equatorial Guinea is a horizontal tricolor, with green, white and red stripes and a blue triangle at the hoist.
Official Name Republic of Equatorial Guinea
Lat Long1.5000° N, 10.0000° E
Area10,830 Sq mi (28,050 Sq Km)
Largest CityBata
Official LanguagesSpanish (administrative), French, Portuguese
Major ReligionChristianity and Islam
National DayOctober 12, 1968 (From Spain)
Form of GovernmentUnitary dominant-party presidential republic (de jure) Unitary one-party state
PresidentTeodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo
Vice PresidentNA
Prime MinisterFrancisco Pascual Obama Asue
CurrencyCentral African CFA franc (XAF)
GDP17.7 billion USD (2012)
Calling Code240
Time ZoneWAT (UTC+1)

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at