What countries comprise Oceania? Is Oceania a continent?

Answers » Regions » What countries comprise Oceania?

What countries comprise Oceania?

4.1/5 - (15 votes)
4.1/5 - (15 votes)

Oceania is a region of the South Pacific Ocean that consists of many different island groups.

Oceania is often mistakenly called a continent. Oceania is, in fact, the name used to refer to a collection of islands scattered across the Pacific Ocean. While different accounts of Oceania vary about its spread and limit, the most commonly accepted definition excludes Japan, the Philippines, Indonesia, and Taiwan. Traditionally, the region of Oceania is divided into – Melanesia, Micronesia, Polynesia, and Australasia.


Here is a list of the sovereign countries that are part of Oceania (according to the area) –

Country Area (in square miles)

  • Australia: 2.97 million
  • Papua New Guinea: 178,704
  • New Zealand: 103,483
  • Solomon Islands: 10,965
  • Fiji: 7056
  • Vanuatu: 4706
  • Samoa: 1097
  • Kiribati: 313
  • Tonga: 289
  • Federated States of Micronesia: 271
  • Palau: 180
  • Marshall Islands: 70
  • Tuvalu: 10
  • Nauru: 8

Parts of Indonesia are included in Oceania as about 162,371 square miles of Indonesia (total area – 735,358 square miles) falls here. It is, however, difficult to segregate the two regions.

Apart from these countries, it also comprises a number of islands that are dependencies or exist in free association. Niue and Cook Islands, for example, exist in a free association with New Zealand. American Samoa and French Polynesia are dependencies.

Here is a list of dependencies in the region –

  • American Samoa (USA)
  • Cook Islands (free association with New Zealand)
  • French Polynesia (France)
  • Guam (USA)
  • New Caledonia (France)
  • Niue (free association with New Zealand)
  • Norfolk Island (Australia)
  • Northern Mariana Islands (USA)
  • Pitcairn Islands (UK)
  • Tokelau (New Zealand)
  • Wake Island (USA)
  • Wallis and Futuna (France)

Divisions of Oceania –

Australasia includes Australia and New Zealand;

Melanesia includes Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Solomon Islands, and Vanuatu;

Micronesia includes Kiribati, Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau, and Nauru;

Polynesia includes Samoa, Tonga, and Tuvalu.

Related Links:

Related Maps and Articles:

Oceania Map
Oceania Map
Oceania Location Map
Oceania Location Map
Infographic on Oceania Facts
Infographic on Oceania Facts
Flags of Oceania Countries
Flags of Oceania Countries

Recent Posts
"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."