Political Map of Fiji

Fiji Map
Description :Fiji Political map illustrates the administrative and political divisions of the country, capital, towns, roads, rivers, airports etc. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

The Republic of Fiji is an island nation in Melanesia in the South Pacific Ocean. The estimated population of the country is 849,000 and covers a total area of 7,056 square miles.

As shown in the Fiji Political Map, the island nation's closest neighbors are Vanuatu to the west, France's New Caledonia to the southwest, New Zealand's Kermadec to the southeast, Tonga to the east, the Samoas, France's Wallis and Futuna to the northeast and Tuvalu to the north.

The Republic of Fiji is composed of 322 islands. Viti Levu and Vanua Levu are the two major islands.

The political map of Fiji shows the national capital, major cities and towns, airports, and the neighboring countries and other islands.

Suva is the capital of Fiji and is located on the southeast coast of the island of Viti Levu. Almost half of the population resides in Suva. It has an area of 790.5 square miles and an estimated population of 85,691. On the map, it is marked with a red square enclosed in a square.

For administrative purposes, Fiji is divided into four major divisions that are further divided into fourteen provinces. The fourteen provinces are:
  • Ba
  • Bua
  • Cakaudrove
  • Kadavu
  • Lau
  • Lomaiviti Province
  • Macuata
  • Nadroga-Navosa
  • Naitasiri
  • Namosi
  • Ra
  • Rewa
  • Serua
  • Tailevu

The other major towns and cities as shown in the Fiji Political Map are: Tavuki, Lautoka, Nadi, Sigatoka, Lomaloma, Kanacea, Vunidawa, Sawaleke, Somosomo, and Lakeba.

The governance of Fiji takes place in the framework of a military appointed government and a Parliamentary Republic. The President is the head of state while the Prime Minister functions as the head of government. The current President is Epeli Nailatikau and the Prime Minister of the nation is Frank Bainimarama.

Fiji experienced a period of rapid growth in 1960s and 1970s which stagnated in the 1980s. Urbanization and expansion in service sector has contributed to the GDP growth. Sugar export and the tourism industry are major sources of foreign exchange.

DivisionPopulation: 2007-08-16 census.Area(km.²)Area(mi.²)Capital
5 divisions837,27118,2747,056
Note  : - Population: 2007-08-16 census.

Last Updated on: August 9th, 2018