Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World map / South Sudan Map / Political Map of South Sudan

Political Map of South Sudan

Get accurate information on the states, cities, and various boundaries of South Sudan.

Political Map of South Sudan
Description : South Sudan Map represents the international boundary, province boundary with their capitals, national capital and other important cities. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

South Sudan was formed on July 9, 2011 after secession from Sudan. As shown in the political map of South Sudan, there are ten states in this African country, which are covered under three regions.
The capital city is Juba, which lies in Central Equatoria.

Administrative Regions
There are three main regions of Sudan, and their division is according to historical events in Sudan:

1. Bahr el Ghazal: This region was formed during the Anglo-Egyptian rule and split from Equatoria in 1948, becoming a province, and later, a state in Sudan. It comprises four states, which are:
a. Northern Bahr el Ghazal
b. Western Bahr el Ghazal
c. Lakes
d. Warrup

2. Equatoria: As shown in the map of South Sudan, the region of Equatoria lies to the south. It was established by Egypt in 1870 to gain a further hold on the trade in area. The region is made up of three states:

a. Western Equatoria
b. Central Equatoria
c. Eastern Equatoria

3. Greater Upper Nile: This regions, containing the tributary White Nile, has three states, as listed below:

a. Jonglei
b. Unity
c. Upper Nile


In total, there are 86 counties in South Sudan spanning these ten states. Among the largest counties is Bor.

South Sudan Map

Central Equatoria1,103,59222,9568,863JubaEquatoria
East Equatoria906,12682,54231,870KapoitaEquatoria
Jungoli1,358,602122,47947,289BorUpper Nile
Lakes695,73040,23515,535RumbekBahr el Ghazal
North Bahr-al-Ghazal720,89833,55812,957AwilBahr el Ghazal
Unity585,80135,95613,883BantioUpper Nile
Upper Nile964,35377,77330,028MalakalUpper Nile
Warap972,92831,02711,980WarapBahr el Ghazal
West Bahr-al-Ghazal333,43193,90036,255WauBahr el Ghazal
West Equatoria619,02979,31930,625YambioEquatoria
10 states8,260,490619,745239,285

Note  : -Population: 2008-04-22 census (source [4]).
              Area: Source: various Sudanese embassy Web pages.

Last Updated On : October 25, 2012

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at