Home > Guinea Bissau Map > Interesting Facts about Guinea Bissau

Interesting Facts about Guinea Bissau

by Vishal Kumar

Interesting Facts about Guinea Bissau - Find here important facts about Guinea Bissau, including history, maps, tradition, people, and more.

Where is Guinea Bissau Located?

The Republic of Guinea-Bissau is a west African nation. It is bordered by Senegal on the north, Guinea on the south and east, and the Atlantic Ocean on the west.

What is the capital of Guinea Bissau?

The capital of Guinea is Bissau. Located on the Geba River estuary, off the Atlantic Ocean, Bissau is the largest city in the country with a total area of 29.7 square miles. The city serves as the major port, the administrative and military center of Guinea Bissau. The city had an estimated population of 4.92 lakhs in 2015.

How big is Guinea Bissau?

Guinea Bissau is a small country covering an area of 13,948 square miles. It has an estimated population of 19.7 lakhs in 2020.

What are the ethnic groups in Guinea Bissau?

Guinea-Bissau has an ethnically diverse population. The majority of the population of the country belongs to the Fula and the Mandinka-speaking people; these groups are found in the north and northeast areas of the country. The Balanta and Papel people; Manjaco and Mancanha are the other major ethnic groups. There are also people of mixed Portuguese and African descent, including a Cape Verdean minority and a few Chinese.

What are the administrative divisions of Guinea Bissau?

Guinea Bissau is divided into eight regions that are subdivided into thirty-seven sectors. There is also one autonomous sector, Bissau. It is also the capital and the largest city in Guinea Bissau. The eight regions of the country are: Bafata, Biombo, Bissau, Bolama, Cacheu, Gabu, Oio, Quinara, Tombali.

Who are the political leaders of Guinea Bissau?

The government of Guinea Bissau is a semi-presidential republic.
President – Umaro Mokhtar Sissoco Embaló since 27 February 2020

Prime Minister -Nuno Gomes Nabiam since 28 February 2020

What currency is used in Guinea Bissau?

The West African CFA franc denoted by the ISO 4217 code XOF is the official currency of Guinea Bissau. It is nominally sub-divided into 100 centimes. The CFA franc is the currency of seven other independent states in West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo.

What is the official language of Guinea Bissau?

Portuguese is the official language of Guinea Bissau, but it is spoken by only fourteen percent of the population. Most of the people in the country speak Kriol, a Portuguese-based creole language. Native African languages are also spoken. French is taught in schools and colleges.

What is the religion of Guinea Bissau?

Islam is the dominant religion in Guinea Bissau practiced by thirty-five percent of the population. The majority of the people in the country practice some form of Animism. Indigenous beliefs and customs are followed by almost half the country’s population. There are a few Christians in Guinea Bissau as well.

What is the economy of Guinea Bissau like?

Guinea-Bissau has one of the lowest GDP per capita in the world. In 2010, the GDP was estimated at $1.784 billion, while the per capita was $1,084. The country also has a very low Human Development Index. More than two-thirds of the population lives below the poverty line. Agriculture is the main sector of the country’s economy; rice is the major crop and the staple food. Fish, cashew nuts, and ground nuts are the other major agricultural products and also the major exports.

When is the national day of Guinea Bissau celebrated?

The national day of Guinea-Bissau is celebrated on September 24 every year. On this day in 1973, the country gained its independence from Portugal.

Related Maps