Map of Northern Territory Australia

Northern Territory Map
Western Australia Map Southern Australia Map Queensland Map Western Australia Map Southern Australia Map Queensland Map
Description: Map represents state capital, major towns, roads, rivers, lakes and state boundaries of Northern Territory in Australia. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Facts about Northern Territory of Australia
GovernmentConstitutional monarchy
Area1,420,970 sq km
Time zoneUTC+9:30 (ACST)
Web sitewww.nt.gov.au
Places to VisitUluru, The Olgas, Kings Canyon, Kakadu National Park, Mindil Beach Sunset Market, The Tiwi Islands, Katherine Gorge, The jumping croc circus, Litchfield National Park, Territory Wildlife Park

The Northern Territory is a federal Australian territory. It is the third largest state in Australia and covers an area of 548,640 square miles. In 2016 the population of the Northern Territory stood at 228,833 residents. This is an eight percent growth from 2011, when the population of the state was 211,945 people. As of 2016, the sex ratio of the state was 51.8 percent males in comparison to 48.2 percent females. 45,302 residents of the country, or 19.8% of the population, has been born overseas. English is the main language spoken in the state. It is spoken by 58 percent of the population. Other languages spoken in the Northern Territory are Kriol, Djambarrpuyngu, and Greek. As of 2016, the weekly median income of a family in the state was $2,105.
The Northern Territory is bordered by Western Australia to the west, South Australia to the south, and Queensland to the east. The territory makes up for the most of the centre of the mainland continent, as well as the central northern regions.

Darwin is the capital city of the Northern Territory. It is located on the Timor Sea. With an estimated population of 127,500, it is the largest and most-populated city in the Northern Territory.

The Northern Territory is famous for its rich wildlife. There are many national parks in the region. Some of the major national parks include: Arnhem Land, Barranyi Nth. Island National Park, Daly River Nature Park, Kakadu National Park, Finke Gorge National Park, Gregory National Park, West MacDonnell National Park, and Nitmiluk National Park.

The government of the Northern Territory functions in the framework of a constitutional monarchy. The Chief Minister is the head of the government. Currently, Paul Henderson is the chief minister of the territory.

  Local government areas of the Northern Territory  
MunicipalitiesIncorporated Communities
City of DarwinAherrenge Community
City of PalmerstonAli Curung Community
Litchfield MunicipalityAmoonguna Community
Town of Alice SpringsAputula Community
Town of KatherineAreyonga Community
Community Government CouncilsGaliwin'ku Community
Alpurrurulam CGCGapuwiyak Community
Angurugu CGCIkuntji Community
Anmatjere CGCImanpa Community
Arltarlpilta CGCKaltukatjara Community
Belyuen CGCManingrida Community
Binjari CGCMilingimbi Community
Borroloola CGCMilyakburra Community
Coomalie CGCMinjilang Community
Cox Peninsula CGCMutitjulu Community
Daguragu CGCNganmarriyanga Community
Elliott District CGCNtaria Community (Hermannsburg)
Jilkminggan CGCNyirrpi Community
Kunbarllanjnja CGCPapunya Community
Lajamanu CGCPeppimenarti Community
Ltyentye Apurte CGCRamingining Community
Marngarr CGCUmbakumba Community
Mataranka CGCUrapuntja Aboriginal Corporation
Nauiyu Nambiyu CGCWalungurru Community
Numbulwar Numburindi CGCWarruwi Community
Nyirranggulung Mardrulk Ngadberre Regional CouncilYuelamu Community
Pine Creek CGCShires
Tapatjatjaka CGCBelyuen Shire
Thamarrurr Regional CouncilBarkly Shire
Timber Creek CGCCentral Desert Shire
Tiwi Islands CGCCoomalie Shire
Walangeri Ngumpinku CGCEast Arnhem Shire
Wallace Rockhole CGCRoper Gulf Shire
Watiyawanu CGCMacDonnell Shire
Yuendumu CGCTiwi Islands Shire
Yugul Mangi CGCVictoria Daly Shire
Unincorporated AreasWest Arnhem Shire
Nhulunbuy Wagait Shire
Alyangula Former Northern Territory LGAs
Unincorporated Top End RegionTown of Jabiru
Darwin Rates Act AreaTown of Tennant Creek

Last Updated on: February 25, 2020