Argentina Facts

infographic of Argentina Fast Facts

What is the origin of Argentina’s name ?

Argentina’s name is derived from the Latin word Argentum, meaning silver. The term was first used to designate the region in an atlas made in 1536, and then in 1602 in a poem called “La Argentina” by Martín del Barco Centenera. Before “Argentina,” the area was commonly referred to as “Rio de la Plata” meaning Silver River, for the rumors of silver deposits found in the nearby mountains.

What is the capital of Argentina ?

Argentina’s capital is Buenos Aires, the second largest city in South America. Located along the Rio de la Plata on Argentina’s northeast coast, Buenos Aires is an autonomous city, and is not part of the Buenos Aires province.

What countries border Argentina ?

While Argentina covers most of the southern portion of South America, Chile occupies the narrow strip of coastline to its west. Bolivia and Paraguay border Argentina on the north, and Brazil and Uruguay on the northeast. The southernmost tip of Argentina is not far from Antarctica, and Argentina has claimed a portion of Antarctica as its territory, though it is disputed and overlaps with territory claimed by Britain and Chile.

How big is Argentina ?

Argentina is 2,780,400 square kilometers, which makes it the 8th largest country by size and the largest Spanish speaking country in the world. Argentina contains 23 provinces and one autonomous city, Buenos Aires.

What is the population of Argentina ?

Argentina’s population is estimated at around 40 million people.

What languages are spoken in Argentina ?

Spanish is the primary and official language spoken in Argentina, but Italian, English, German, and
French are also commonly spoken. Argentina is considered a country of immigrants because of colonization by Europeans in the 19th and 20th centuries. Most immigrants were from Spain and Italy, influencing the Spanish accent of Argentina, which is similar to Neapolitan Italian.
Several indigenous languages, including Araucano, Guarani, and Quechua are also recognized as regional languages.

When did Argentina achieve independence ?

Argentina was first discovered by European explorers in 1516, and soon settled by the Spanish, who occupied much of South America at the time. The May Revolution in 1810 marked the beginning of Argentina’s fight for independence, beginning with rejecting Viceroy Baltasar Hidalgo de Cisneros, and instating a local government instead. The Argentine War of Independence lasted from 1810 to 1818, ending with independence from Spain declared on July 9, 1816.

Who are the Gauchos ?

A gaucho is a South American cowboy from the Pampas region of Argentina as well as other parts of southern South America. In the region’s history, the nomadic, cattle-herding gauchos made up a large portion of the rural community, and are responsible for the high quality steaks for which Argentina is known. The gauchos served as a nationalistic symbol to represent freedom during the Argentinean revolution and journey for independence, not unlike the icon of the American cowboy: strong and willing to fight when necessary.

Does Argentina have an official religion ?

Though the government is required to support Roman Catholicism, the people of Argentina are guaranteed religious freedom. Still, over 90% of Argentina’s population consider themselves Christian, primarily Roman Catholic. Argentina does, however, contain the largest Jewish population in Latin America.

What are the largest cities in Argentina ?
  1. Buenos Aires
  2. Córdoba
  3. Rosario
  4. Mendoza
  5. Tucumán

Where did tango originate ?

The dance and music known as Tango originated in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Influenced by both African and European music styles, Tango was created by the working class of the Rio de la Plata region, which included many European immigrants. The style quickly spread and became popular among the upper class and around the world.

Last Updated on: May 12, 2017