Pierce County Map, Washington

Pierce County Map, washington
Mason Kitsap King Kittitas Yakima Lewis Thurston
Description : The map showing the location of Pierce County in Washington state of USA. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited,its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Founded on December 22, 1852, Pierce County is located in the Puget Sound area in Western Washington. The county is named for U.S. President Franklin Pierce. The second most populous county in the state of Washington, behind King County. Tacoma, the county seat, is the third largest in the state. Regionally known as the "City of Destiny," Tacoma is a major financial center in the South Sound region.

The county covers a total area of 1,806 square miles, south of Seattle Metropolitan Area. The highest point in Washington, Mount Rainier in the Cascade Range at 4,392 meters, is located in Pierce County. Popular among mountaineers, this volcanic summit is the centerpiece of fifth national park in the United States. The 236,381-acre expanse of Mount Rainier National Park features valleys, waterfalls, sub-alpine meadows, old-growth forest, and glaciers. The county is home to the Clearwater Wilderness area. Events in Pierce County such as Daffodil Festival & Parade in April and the Washington State Fair in September draw in large number of visitors.

Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, 22 miles north of downtown Tacoma, is the primary gateway in the region. The Port of Tacoma, the sixth busiest container port in North America, plays a key trade role in the Pacific Northwest. Interstate 5 is the major corridor in the county. It connects Tacoma with Olympia and Seattle. State Route 410, SR 16, and SR 7 are secondary highways in Pierce County. Amtrak Station in Tacoma is served by the Cascades route.


Facts about Pierce county in Washington

County NamePierce county
Founded22 December 1852
Area1,806 sq mi (4,678 sq km)
Land Area1,670 sq mi (4,325 km2)
Water Area137 sq mi (355 sq km), 7.6%
Largest CityTacoma
CitiesBonney Lake, Fife, DuPont, Ruston, Carbonado, Edgewood, Steilacoom, Sumner, Puyallup, Lakewood, University Place, Eatonville, Roy, South Prairie, Gig Harbor, Orting, Buckley, Fircrest, Wilkeson, Kapowsin, Browns Point, Purdy, Wauna, Home, North Puyallup,
County SeatTacoma
TimezonePacific: UTC-8/-7

Map of All Counties in Washington

Adams County MapAsotin County MapBenton County Map
Chelan County MapClallam County MapClark County Map
Columbia County MapCowlitz County MapDouglas County Map
Ferry County MapFranklin County MapGarfield County Map
Grant County MapGrays Harbor County MapIsland County Map
Jefferson County MapKing County MapKitsap County Map
Kittitas County MapKlickitat County MapLewis County Map
Lincoln County MapMason County MapOkanogan County Map
Pacific County MapPend Oreille County MapPierce County Map
San Juan County MapSkagit County MapSkamania County Map
Snohomish County MapSpokane County MapStevens County Map
Thurston County MapWahkiakum County MapWalla Walla County Map
Whatcom County MapWhitman County MapYakima County Map
USA County Maps