Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Rugby / World Cup / 1987 Rugby World Cup

1987 Rugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup commenced in 1987 with Australia and New Zealand as host nations. The idea of the Rugby World Cup was suggested by the Australian Rugby Union and the New Zealand Football Union in separate submissions to the International Rugby Board. Though 16 nations from all over the globe participated in 1987 Rugby World Cup , but there were only three real contenders for the trophy. Since, in 1987 the first Rugby World Cup was hosted the 16 members were invited by the International Rugby football Board and there were no separate selection procedures. The extravaganza began on 22 nd May, 1987 and ended on 20 th June, 1987. There were four pools with each pool having four members. Each nation had to play thrice during the group stage and the top two teams moved subsequently to the quarter finals. Same applied for all the groups and the quarter final was followed by the semi-finals and the finals.
  Participating Teams  
Pool 1Pool 2Pool 3Pool 4
Australia Canada Argentina France
England Ireland Fiji Romania
Japan Tonga Italy Scotland
United States Wales New Zealand Zimbabwe
  Stadium Venues  
Stadium NameCapacityCity NameCountry
Ballymore Stadium24000BrisbaneAustralia
Concord Oval20000SydneyAustralia
Eden Park45472AucklandNew Zealand
Athletic Park39000WellingtonNew Zealand
Lancaster Park36500ChristchurchNew Zealand
Carisbrook35000DunedinNew Zealand
Rotorua International Stadium35000RotoruaNew Zealand
McLean Park30000NapierNew Zealand
Rugby Park30000HamiltonNew Zealand
Rugby Park Stadium17000InvercargillNew Zealand
Showgrounds Oval20000Palmerston NorthNew Zealand
  1987 Rugby World Cup Results  
Scheduled DateTeam 1Match ResultTeam 2Stadium Venue
Pool 1
23 May 87Australia19 - 6EnglandSydney
24 May 87Japan18 - 21USABrisbane
30 May 87England60 - 7JapanSydney
31 May 87Australia47 - 12USABrisbane
03 Jun 87England34 - 6USASydney
03 Jun 87Australia42 - 23JapanSydney
Pool 2
24 May 87Canada37 - 4TongaNapier
25 May 87Ireland6 - 13WalesWellington
29 May 87Tonga16 - 29WalesPalmerston North
30 May 87Canada19 - 46IrelandDunedin
03 Jun 87Canada9 - 40WalesInvercargill
03 Jun 87Ireland32 - 9TongaBrisbane
Pool 3
22 May 87New Zealand70 - 6ItalyAuckland
24 May 87Argentina9 - 28FijiHamilton
27 May 87New Zealand74 - 13FijiChristchurch
28 May 87Argentina25 - 16ItalyChristchurch
31 May 87Fiji15 - 18ItalyDunedin
01 Jun 87New Zealand46 - 15ArgentinaWellington
Pool 4
23 May 87Romania21 - 20ZimbabweAuckland
23 May 87France20 - 20ScotlandChristchurch
28 May 87France55 - 12RomaniaWellington
30 May 87Scotland60 - 21ZimbabweWellington
02 Jun 87Romania28 - 55ScotlandDunedin
02 Jun 87France70 - 12ZimbabweAuckland
Quarter Finals
06 Jun 87New Zealand30 - 3ScotlandChristchurch
07 Jun 87Australia33 - 15IrelandSydney
07 Jun 87Fiji16 - 31FranceAuckland
08 Jun 87England3 - 16WalesBrisbane
Semi Finals
13 Jun 87Australia24 - 30FranceSydney
14 Jun 87New Zealand49 - 6WalesBrisbane
3rd Place Play-Off
18 Jun 87Australia21 - 22WalesRotorua
20 Jun 87New Zealand29 - 9FranceAuckland