Home > Mali Map > Mali Africa Map

Mali Africa Map

by Vishal Kumar

Mali is a landlocked country situated in West Africa, sharing borders with Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cote d'Ivoire, Guinea, Senegal, and Mauritania.

Mali Africa Map

Mali is an African nation located in the northwestern part of the continent, between neighboring countries, Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Iovire, Guinea, Senegal, and Mauritania.

Mali is a landlocked country partly within the Sahara Desert. Mali has an area of about 1,240,192 square kilometers (478,839 square miles).

Mali is divided into eight regions and one district. The regions of Mali are further divided into cercles and communes, which come from Mali’s French colonial period. The regions of Mali are Kayes, Koulikoro, Sikasso, Segou, Mopti, Tombouctou, Gao, and Kidal. Each of the regions of Mali are governed by the city of the same name as the region.

Tombouctou (also known as Timbuktu) is the largest of the regions, with an area of 496,611 square kilometers. The most populous region of Mali is Sikasso, with about 2.6 million people, followed by Koulikoro, with about 2.4 million, and Segou, with around 2.3 million. The capital district of Mali is called Bamako.

Region Population Area(km.²) Area(mi.²)
Bamako 1,809,106 252 97
Gao 544,120 170,572 65,858
Kayes 1,996,812 119,743 46,233
Kidal 67,638 151,430 58,467
Koulikoro 2,418,305 95,848 37,007
Mopti 2,037,330 79,017 30,509
Segou 2,336,255 64,821 25,028
Sikasso 2,625,919 70,280 27,135
Timbuktu 681,691 496,611 191,743
9 divisions 14,517,176 1,248,574 482,077

Related Maps