Political Map of Ethiopia

Political Map of Ethiopia
Description : Ethiopia Political map showing the international boundary, ethnically based states and self-governing administrations boundaries with their capitals and national capital.. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Located in the horn of Africa, Ethiopia is the second-most populated country in Africa. It is home to over eighty-two million people. The total area covered by the country is 426,371 square miles.

As shown in the political map of Ethiopia, the country shares borders with Eritrea, Djibouti and Somalia, Sudan and South Sudan, and Kenya to the north, east, west, and south respectively.

The country falls on the latitude of 8° North and the longitude of 38°East. Ras Dejen and Denakil Depression are respectively the highest and the lowest points of Ethiopia.

Red Sea and Gulf of Aden is situated on the north and northeastern side of Ethiopia respectively.

The Ethiopia political map shows the national capital, major cities, provinces, and other political divisions of the country. The national, provincial, and international borders of the nation are also shown in the map.

The national capital, Addis Ababa is clearly marked in the map with a red dot enclosed in a square. With an estimated population of 3,384,569, it is the largest city in Ethiopia.

For administrative purposes, Ethiopia is divided into nine countries that are sub-divided sixty-eight zones and two chartered cities. The regions are:
  • Afar
  • Amhara
  • Benishangul-Gumuz
  • Gambela
  • Harari
  • Oromia
  • Somali
  • Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region
  • Tigray
The two chartered cities are: Addis Ababa and Dire Dawa.

The other major cities shown in the map are: Adigrat, Aksum, Maychew, Himora, Debre Tabor, Weldiya, Bahir Dar, Jijiga, Degeh Bur, Werder, Gode, Debre Birhan, Nazret, Asosa, Metu, Gambela, Kelem, Kibre Mendist and Negele.

The major places to visit in Ethiopia include Lalibela, Bahir Dar, Shashemene, Blue Nile Gorge, Hawassa, Dhati - Walal National Park, Axum, Debere Demo, Gondar, and the Neshisar National Park.

StatePopulation: Official projections for 2008-07-01.Area(km.²)Area(mi.²)
Addis Ababa3,147,000530205
Dire Dawa428,0001,213468
Gambela Peoples259,00025,8029,962
Harari People209,000311120
Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples15,745,000112,34343,376
11 divisions79,221,0001,127,127435,186

Note  : - Population: Official projections for 2008-07-01.

Political Map of Ethiopia (7th May, 2012)

Last Updated on: August 8th, 2018
Addis Ababa Map Addis Ababa Map Sudan Map South Sudan Map Uganda Map Kenya Map Somalia Map Djibouti Map Eritrea Map Saudi Arabia Map Yemen Map