Home > Zimbabwe Map > Zimbabwe Facts

Zimbabwe Facts

by Vishal Kumar

Where is Zimbabwe? Zimbabwe is a landlocked country located in south-central part of the African continent. What is the capital of Zimbabwe? Harare is the capital city of Zimbabwe. With…

Where is Zimbabwe?
Zimbabwe is a landlocked country located in south-central part of the African continent.

What is the capital of Zimbabwe?
Harare is the capital city of Zimbabwe. With an estimated population of 1,600,000, it is the largest city in Zimbabwe. Harare serves as the administrative, commercial, and communications centre of the country. The city is famous for its manufactured goods that include textiles, gold, steel, and chemicals. The University of Zimbabwe is also located in Harare.

What countries border Zimbabwe?
Zimbabwe is bounded on the north and east by Mozambique, on the south by the Republic of South Africa, on the south-west by Botswana, and on the north and north-west by Zambia.

How big is Zimbabwe?
Zimbabwe covers a total area of 150,871 square miles. The land occupies 1,929 square miles, and water covers 1,509 square miles.

What are the ethnic groups in Zimbabwe?
Zimbabwe has a diverse population; there are indigenous people in the country as well as migrants from other nations. Almost ninety-eight percent of the population is constituted by the black ethnic groups. The largest black group is the Shona group that comprise around eighty-five percent of the total population. The Shonas are followed by Ndebele (15%). There are several Bantu ethnic groups that make up five percent of the Zimbabwe population. These are Venda, Tonga, Shangaan, Kalanga, Sotho, Ndau and Nambya.

There are also a few members of Greek, Portuguese, French and Dutch communities.

What are the administrative divisions of Zimbabwe?
The government of Zimbabwe is a centralized one and is divided into eight provinces and two cities, for administrative purposes. The provinces are sub-divided into fifty-nine districts and 1,200 municipalities, better known as wards. Each province has a capital. The districts are headed by District Administrators, that are appointed by the Public Service Commission. There is also a provision of a Rural District Council, that appoints a Chief Executive Officer.

Who are the political leaders of Zimbabwe?
The government of Zimbabwe is a parliamentary democracy.
President – Robert Mugabe
Vice President – Joice Mujuru
John Nkomo
Prime Minister – Morgan Tsvangirai
Deputy Prime Minister – Thokozani Khuphe Arthur Mutambara

What currency is used in Zimbabwe?
The Zimbabwean dollar denoted by the ISO 4217 code ZWL was the official currency of Zimbabwe. It was denoted by a dollar ($) sign. The dollar has been the nation’s currency from 1980 to 12 April 2009. It has now been abandoned and the nation uses foreign currencies such as the South African Rand, Botswana Pula, Pound Sterling and the United States Dollar.

What is the official language of Zimbabwe?
English, Shona, and Sindebele are the official languages of Zimbabwe. A majority of the population speaks Bantu languages such as Shona, Ndebele, Venda, Tsonga, Shangaan, Kalanga, Sotho, Ndau and Nambya.

What is the religion of Zimbabwe?
Christianity is the dominant religion on Zimbabwe followed by over eighty-five percent of the population. The largest Christian denominations include the Anglican Church, Roman Catholic, Seventh-day Adventist and Methodist. There are a few Muslims as well.

What is the economy of Zimbabwe like?
In 2010 the GDP (PPP) of Zimbabwe was estimated at $4.644 billion. The GDP per capita was $395. Agriculture, foreign trade, and tourism are the main currency earners of Zimbabwe. Mining is a significant sector; the country has some of the largest platinum and diamond reserves in the world. Zimbabwe exports tobacco, gold, nickel, cotton, ferro-alloys, textiles, and agricultural products.

When is the national day of Zimbabwe celebrated?
The national day of Zimbabwe is celebrated on April 18. The day is celebrated to commemorate the nation’s independence from the United Kingdom on April 18, 1980.

Related Maps