Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Malta / Malta Government and Politics

Malta Government and Politics

Situated in Southern Europe, Malta consists of an archipelago with three biggest islands namely Malta, Kemmuna and Ghawdex. Conventionally known as "Republic of Malta" the capital of the country is Vallette.
The Malta Government comprises of no administrative divisions because it is directly controlled from the country's capital. The nation achieved its independence in the year 1964 and the constitution formed was amended several times. The Malta politics and government is well linked with each other.

The head of the government is the President himself. There are two courts in Malta known as the Constitutional Court and the Court of Appeal where judges are selected by the president. The political parties in Malta are Alternativa Demokratika or Alliance for Social Justice, Malta Labor Party (Alfred Sant) Nationalist Party or PN (Lawrence Gonzi).

The members of the Parliament are selected through votes. The party which gains maximum number of votes forms the government and t serves the nation for a five year term.