Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Ecuador / Ecuador Facts

Ecuador Facts

Know Facts about World Countries

What is the capital of Ecuador?

Quito is the capital city. It was the first city, along with Krakow, to be declared the first World Cultural Heritage Sites by UNESCO in 1978.

It is also the capital of the Pichincha province and the seat of Metropolitan District of Quito.

Where is Ecuador located?

Ecuador is located on the west coast of the South American continent. The equator crosses the country.

What countries border Ecuador?

Ecuador borders Colombia on the North, Peru on the East and South, and the Pacific Ocean on the West, with a total boundary length of 2,639 miles. The country also includes the Galapagos Islands (Archipielago de Colon) in the Pacific.

What are the administrative divisions of Ecuador?

The fourth-smallest country in South America, Ecuador is divided into 24 provinces, each with its own capital. The provinces are further divided into cantons, which are subdivided into parishes.

Who are the political leaders of Ecuador?

President: Rafael Correa
Vice President: Lenin Moreno

What currency is used in Ecuador?

The US Dollar (USD) is the official currency of Ecuador. It was adopted in January 2000, replacing the Sucre, the initial Ecuador currency.

What is the official language of Ecuador?

Spanish is the official language of Ecuador. Chuar-Shiwiar, Cha'palaachi, Cofan, Colorado (Tsachila), Cuaiquer are some of the indigenous languages spoken in the country.

What is the religion of Ecuador?

Roman Catholicism is the predominant religion of Ecuador. In the rural parts of Ecuador, indigenous beliefs and Catholicism are also popular.

What is the economy of Ecuador like?

Petroleum is the country's largest industry; others include food processing, tourism, and the manufacture of textiles, wood products, and chemicals. The oil sector typically accounts for 50%-60% of the country's export earnings, 15%-20% of GDP, and 30%-40% of government revenues. The United States, Colombia, Peru, Venezuela, and Brazil are its chief trading partners. The country experienced an economic crisis in the late 1990s, but began recovery early in the 21st Century. Ecuador is a member of the Andean Community, an economic organization of South American countries.

When is the independence day of Ecuador celebrated?

On 10 August 1809 a group of men in Quito participated in Latin American First Cry for the independence of Ecuador that helped start the Ecuadorian War against Spain for independence.

On May 24 in 1822, at the Battle of Pichincha, Antonio Jose de Sucre achieved independence for Quito and all of the territory of Ecuador. After independence until 1830, the territories of Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador and Bolivia that were independent joined the Gran Colombia. Ecuador remained part of Gran Colombia for eight years. After Venezuela withdrew from Gran Colombia, Ecuador followed suit and dissolved its association with Gran Colombia in 1830.

What is the most popular sport of Ecuador?

Cockfighting is the most popular sport. In most towns in Ecuador, there is a cockfighting coliseum. It is a traditional sport where the birds (roosters) are placed in a circular ring, about 20 feet in diameter and left to fight each other, while people place bets. The owners train their birds to do this. It is a dangerous sport and keeping in mind the aggressiveness it breeds, it is now banned in most countries. Ecuador, however, continues with this ancient sport.

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at