Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Maps / Ecuador / Ecuador Currency

Ecuador Currency

US Dollar was accepted as the national currency of Ecuador on January, 2000, thereby replacing Sucre, the initial Ecuador Currency. It was nationally adopted in Ecuador from September, 2000.

Important Details about Ecuador Currency

According to the current currency conversion rate of Ecuador, 25000 Sucre is equal to 1 US dollar. The money that is circulated includes notes and coins. Notes are of the denominations of US$100, 50, 20, 10, 5, 2 and 1 while the coins are found in denominations of US$1 and 50, 25, 10, 5 and 1 cent.

Other valuable information about Ecuador Currency

It is important to know that in Ecuador, the exchange of Foreign Currencies is generally made in the exchange houses and banks. In the main cities of the country such as Quito, Guayaquil and Cuenca, the travelers can exchange their currencies and checks conveniently. ATMs are also available in almost all parts of the country. One important thing to be noted about the exchange of foreign currencies in Ecuador is that there are absolutely no restrictions of the import or export of foreign currencies. Credit cards, mainly Visa and Master Cards are also easily accepted in Ecuador.

US Dollar was adopted as Ecuador Currency with the aim of affecting some improvement in the economic condition of the country, thereby accelerating the process of poverty elimination.

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

Buy Maps Online

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064