Know some quick facts about the DRC like capital, currency, population, political leaders, official language, and more.

What was the Democratic Republic of the Congo earlier known as?

The Democratic Republic of the Congo, often referred to as DR Congo and DRC, was earlier called the Republic of Zaire.

What is the capital of the DRC?

Kinshasa is the capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo. It is the largest city in the country, covering an area of 3,847.5 square miles. The estimated population of the city is 13,265,000.

Where is the DRC located?

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a country situated in Central Africa. It is bounded by the Republic of Congo and the Atlantic Ocean to the west; Zambia to the southeast; Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, and Uganda to the east; Angola to the southwest; Sudan to the northeast; and the Central African Republic to the north. The country has many ports and harbors: Banana, Bumba, Goma, kindu, Mbandaka, Matadi, Bukavu, Kinshasa and Kisangani are some of the most important.

How big is the DRC?

DRC is an African country with an area of 905,568 square miles. Mountain terraces, plateaus, and dense grasslands make up the landscape of the country.

What is the population of the DRC?

The DRC has an estimated population of 91,931,000 as per the 2019 estimate. It is the fourth most populous nation in Africa. Over 90 percent of the population comprises black Africans. There are around 200 tribes, mostly of Bantu origin. Mongo, Kongo, Luba and Mangbetu-Azande are the four principal tribes.

Who are the political leaders of the DRC Congo?

The country is a Unitary semi-presidential republic.
President – Félix Antoine Tshisekedi Tshilombo since 25 Jan 2019.

Prime Minister -Jean-Michel Sama Lukonde Kyenge since 15th Feb 2021.

What are the administrative divisions of the DRC?

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is divided into 10 provinces and one city province. The provinces are further divided into districts, which are subdivided into territories.

What is the official language of the DRC?

French is the official language of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Lingala, Swahili, Kikongo (or Kongo), and Tshiluba are the most important indigenous languages spoken in the country. These are the Bantu languages of the Niger-Congo family of languages.

Check also : /answers/language/french-official-language/

Check also: /world-maps/french.html

What is the official religion of the DRC?

The majority of the population (almost 96 percent) of the DRC follows Christianity. About 50 percent of the population is Roman Catholic while 20 percent are Protestants. Islam and Hinduism are the minority religions practiced in the country.

What is the currency of the DRC?

The Congolese Franc, denoted by the ISO code CDF, is the official currency of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is subdivided into 100 centimes.

What are the main features of the economy of the DRC?

The major industries of the Democratic Republic of the Congo include agriculture, clothing, foodstuffs, forestry, mining, oil refining, and textiles. Mining plays an important role in the country’s economy. It exports cobalt, coffee, copper, and diamonds. Congo is the largest producer of cobalt ore in the world. Belgium, Luxembourg, France, the USA, Canada, Germany, the Netherlands, Japan, and the United Kingdom are the major trading partners.

Check also: /country-profile/congo.html

What are the main ethnic groups in the DRC?

Bantu is the largest ethnic group in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Mongo, Luba, Kongo, and the Mangbetu-Azande are other principal groups in the country.

Related Maps