Alaska State Information

Where is Alaska ?
The U.S. state of Alaska is bordered by the Yukon Territory and British Columbia in Canada to the east; the Gulf of Alaska and Pacific Ocean to the south; the Bering Sea, Bering Strait, and Chukchi Sea to the west; and the Arctic Ocean to the north.

How did Alaska get its name ?
Alaska derives its name from the Aleut word "alaxsxaq", meaning "the mainland". It is also known by another Aleut word, Alyeska, meaning the "great land."

What is the capital of Alaska ?
Juneau is the capital of Alaska. It is located on the Gastineau channel and has been the capital since 1906. It covers an area of 3,255 square miles and has an estimated population of 30,988. The state is almost the size of Rhode Island and Delaware combined. It is home to the Alaska State Capitol, which was built in 1931. It is the only American capital to border another country.

How big is Alaska ?
Alaska is the largest state in the United States of America. It covers an area of 663,268 square miles, and is the least densely populated state. It has an estimated population of 710,231.

Which is the largest city of Alaska ?
Anchorage is the largest city in the state. It is the northernmost major city in the Union. Located in the south-central Alaska, it is home to 40% of the population of Alaska. It has an estimated population of 291,826 and covers an area of 1,961.1 square miles.

What is the nickname of Alaska ?
Alaska is also known as "the last frontier."

What is the official language of Alaska ?
Alaska has no official language. Majority of the population speaks English at home. Spanish and other Indo-European languages are also spoken in the state. It also has around 22 indigenous languages, which are known as "native languages."

What is the religion of Alaska ?
Alaska is regarded as the least religious state in United States. Christianity is the prominent religion in the state. Muslims, Jews, and Hindus are in minority.

Who is the political leader of Alaska ?
Alaska is governed as a republic. The government has three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial branch. The executive branch comprises the Governor and other independently elected officers, while the legislative branch comprises House of Representatives and the Senate. Sean R. Parnell is the tenth and the current Governor of Alaska. He assumed office on July 26, 2009. Mead Treadwell is the 13th and the current Lieutenant Governor of Alaska. He assumed office on December 6, 2010.

When did Alaska achieve statehood ?
The United States of America purchased Alaska from Russia for $7.2 million in 1867. Alaska was approved as a state by the Congress on July 7, 1958 and was officially proclaimed a state on January 3, 1959.

What are some of the famous places in Alaska ?
Abyss Lake, Pedro Dome, Kachemak Bay State Park, Afognak Island State Park, Alaska Native Heritage center, Alaska State Museum, and Kenai Visitors and Cultural Center are some of the notable places in Alaska.

What is the economy of Alaska like ?
In 2007, the gross state product of the state was $44.9 billion and the personal per capita income was $40,042. The economy of the state is dependent on oil and gas industry, which accounts for 20% of oil produced in the country. Due to extreme climate and steep terrain, little farming happens in Alaska. Agriculture contributes a small fraction to the economy of the state. Primary agricultural outputs are potatoes, carrots, lettuce, dairy products, and cabbage. The state has abundance of seafood. Industrial outputs are crude petroleum, natural gas, coal, gold, precious metals, zinc, timber, and wood products. Seafood, oil, and natural gas are Alaska's main export products.

Last Updated on: March 21, 2017