Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sports Events / Cricket / World Cup / Cricket World Cup 2015

Cricket World Cup 2015 - ICC World Cup

Download Cricket World Cup Schedule in PDF

  • Download PDF

Live Cricket Score
Interesting facts
  1. Sachin Tendulkar is the Brand Ambassador for the 2015 World Cup.

  2. Martin Guptill made a World Cup record when he scored 237 against the West Indies at Wellington’s Westpac Stadium in New Zealand.

  3. Afghanistan made their debut in the 2015 World Cup.

  4. Sri Lankan veterans Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara bid adieu to ODIs after losing to South Africa in the World Cup 2015 quarters.

  5. The ICC increased the prize money for the event this year. It is 20% more than that of 2011 World Cup.

  6. The West Indies were humbled by minnows Ireland. Batting first, West Indies scored 304. Ireland successfully chased the target in 45.5 overs with four wickets in hand.

  7. New Zealand beat South Africa with a ball to spare at Eden Park in Auckland. This is the first time New Zealand has made it to the World Cup finals.

  8. 49 matches played over 44 days.

  9. The final will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, which can accommodate more than 100,000 people.

  10. Australia has never lost a World Cup semi-final. Australia won five matches in 1975, 1987, 1996, 2003 and 2007. They tied one game against South Africa in 1999.

  11. Sachin Tendulkar (1992-2011) and Pakistan’s Javed Miandad (1975-1996) have appeared in six World Cups.

  12. India is the only host nation to win the world cup tournament. They won 2011 World Cup under the captaincy of MS Dhoni against Sri Lanka.

2015 ICC Cricket World Cup - clash of the titans
The greatest cricketing show in the world gets underway on 14 February when joint hosts New Zealand and Australia take on Sri Lanka and England respectively in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup.

Some pundits have argued that with the rise of Twenty20 cricket and an audience with shorter attention spans, One-day international (ODI) cricket’s glory days are over. Well, that analysis falls flat if you look at the huge excitement generated by the World Cup. Quite simply, this remains the most exciting event in the cricketing calendar, and is among the most followed sporting events in the world.

The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, now in its 11th edition since the first tournament in 1975, will be held from 14 February to 29 March, and will include 49 matches at 14 venues. While 26 games will be staged in Australia, co-host New Zealand will be the venue for the remaining 23.

The two countries will be hosting the World Cup for the second time after 1992.

Fourteen teams – Australia, New Zealand, England, Scotland, Ireland, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe and UAE – and over 400 officials are part of the mega-event.

It will be a very special moment for Afghanistan as the country makes its World Cup debut.

The teams are split into two groups of seven, who play each other in the group stage, which will feature 42 matches. The top four teams of each pool will reach the quarter-finals.

The total prize money for the 2015 World Cup is $10 million.

Sachin Tendulkar, regarded by many cricket experts to be the greatest batsman of the modern era, is the ambassador for the 2015 World Cup.



ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Schedule, Timetable or Fixtures

Match Date Pool Team Venue, Stadium
1Fri, Feb 14, 15Pool ASri Lanka V New Zealand Hagley Oval, Christchurch
2Fri, Feb 14, 15 (D/N)Pool AEngland V Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
3Sat, Feb 15, 15 (D/N)Pool BSouth Africa V Zimbabwe Seddon Park, Hamilton
4Sat, Feb 15, 15 (D/N)Pool BIndia V Pakistan Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
5Sun, Feb 16, 15Pool BWest Indies V Ireland Saxton Oval, Nelson
6Mon, Feb 17, 15Pool ANew Zealand v Scotland University Oval, Dunedin
7Tue, Feb 18, 15 (D/N)Pool AAfghanistan v Bangladesh Manuka Oval, Canberra
8Wed, Feb 19, 15Pool BUnited Arab Emirates v Zimbabwe Saxton Oval, Nelson
9Thu, Feb 20, 15 (D/N)Pool AEngland V New Zealand Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington
10Fri, Feb 21, 15Pool BPakistan V West Indies Hagley Oval, Christchurch
11Fri, Feb 21, 15 (D/N)Pool AAustralia V Bangladesh The Gabba, Brisbane
12Sat, Feb 22, 15Pool AAfghanistan v Sri Lanka University Oval, Dunedin
13Sat, Feb 22, 15(D/N)South Africa V India Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
14Sun, Feb 23, 15Pool AEngland v Scotland Hagley Oval, Christchurch
15Mon, Feb 24, 15 (D/N)Pool BWest Indies V Zimbabwe Manuka Oval, Canberra
16Tue, Feb 25, 15 (D/N)Pool BIreland v United Arab Emirates The Gabba, Brisbane
17Wed, Feb 26, 15Pool AAfghanistan v Scotland University Oval, Dunedin
18Wed, Feb 26, 15 (D/N)Pool ASri Lanka V Bangladesh Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
19Thu, Feb 27, 15 (D/N)Pool BSouth Africa V West Indies Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
20Fri, Feb 28, 15 (D/N)Pool AAustralia V New Zealand Eden Park, Auckland
21Fri, Feb 28, 15 (D/N)Pool BIndia v United Arab Emirates WACA, Perth
22Sat, Mar 1, 15Pool AEngland V Sri Lanka Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington
23Sat, Mar 1, 15 (D/N)Pool BPakistan V Zimbabwe The Gabba, Brisbane
24Mon, Mar 3, 15 (D/N)Pool BSouth Africa V Ireland Manuka Oval, Canberra
25Tue, Mar 4, 15 (D/N)Pool BPakistan v United Arab Emirates McLean Park, Napier
26Tue, Mar 4, 15 (D/N)Pool AAustralia v Afghanistan WACA, Perth
27Wed, Mar 5, 15Pool ABangladesh v Scotland Saxton Oval, Nelson
28Thu, Mar 6, 15 (D/N)Pool BIndia V West Indies WACA, Perth
29Fri, Mar 7, 15 (D/N)Pool BSouth Africa V Pakistan Eden Park, Auckland
30Fri, Mar 7, 15 (D/N)Pool BZimbabwe V Ireland Bellerive Oval, Hobart
31Sat, Mar 8, 15Pool ANew Zealand v Afghanistan McLean Park, Napier
32Sat, Mar 8, 15 (D/N)Pool AAustralia V Sri Lanka Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
33Sun, Mar 9, 15 (D/N)Pool AEngland V Bangladesh Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
34Mon, Mar 10, 15 (D/N)Pool BIndia V Ireland Seddon Park, Hamilton
35Tue, Mar 11, 15 (D/N)Pool AScotland v Sri Lanka Bellerive Oval, Hobart
36Wed, Mar 12, 15 (D/N)Pool BSouth Africa v United Arab Emirates Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington
37Thu, Mar 13, 15 (D/N)Pool ABangladesh V New Zealand Seddon Park, Hamilton
38Thu, Mar 13, 15 (D/N)Pool AEngland V AfghanistanSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
39Fri, Mar 14, 15 (D/N)Pool BIndia V Zimbabwe Eden Park, Auckland
40Fri, Mar 14, 15 (D/N)Pool AAustralia v Scotland Bellerive Oval, Hobart
41Sat, Mar 15, 15Pool BWest Indies V UAEMcLean Park, Napier
42Sat, Mar 15, 15 (D/N)Pool BPakistan V Ireland Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
43Tue, Mar 18, 15 (D/N)Quarterfinal 1South Africa V Sri Lanka Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
44Wed, Mar 19, 15 (D/N)Quarterfinal 2Bangladesh v IndiaMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
45Thu, Mar 20, 15 (D/N)Quarterfinal 3Australia v PakistanAdelaide Oval, Adelaide
46Fri, Mar 21, 15 (D/N)Quarterfinal 4New Zealand v West IndiesWellington Regional Stadium, Wellington
47Mon, Mar 24, 15 (D/N)Semi-final 1New Zealand v South AfricaEden Park, Auckland
48Wed, Mar 26, 15 (D/N)Semi-final 2Australia v IndiaSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
49Sat, Mar 29, 15 (D/N)FINALAustralia v New ZealandMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

ICC World Cup Previous Winners

YearHost CountryWinnersRunners-Up
1975EnglandWest IndiesAustralia
1979EnglandWest IndiesEngland
1983EnglandIndiaWest Indies
1987India & PakistanAustraliaEngland
1992Australia & New ZealandPakistanEngland
1996India, Pakistan & Sri LankaSri LankaAustralia
2003South Africa, Kenya & ZimbabweAustraliaIndia
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri Lanka
2011Bangladesh, India and Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2015Australia & New ZealandTo be playedTo be played
Last Updated : January 23, 2015