Facts about Czech Republic

Lat Long49 45 N, 15 30 E
Area30,450 sq mi (78,866 km2)
Population10,644,842 (July 2015 est.)
Largest CityPrague
Official LanguagesCzech
Major ReligionRoman Catholic 10.4%, Protestant (includes Czech Brethren and Hussite) 1.1%, other and unspecified 54%, none 34.5% (2011 est.)
National Day28. October 1918
Form of GovernmentParliamentary republic
PresidentMilos Zeman
Prime MinisterBohuslav Sobotka
CurrencyCzeck koruna (CZK)
GDP$325.285 billion (2015 estimate)
Calling Code420
Time ZoneCET (UTC+1) Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)
Internet TLD.cz

Czech Fast Facts Infographic

Click to view full Infographic

What is the capital of the Czech Republic?
Prague is the capital of the Czech Republic. Prague has been a city for over one thousand years, and has been the capital of the Holy Roman Empire, an important city in Austria-Hungary, and later Czechoslovakia’s capital. It is now one of the most visited cities in Europe, offering many historic sites and cultural experiences.

When did the Czech Republic join the European Union?
The Czech Republic joined the EU in 2004 along with seven other Central and Eastern European countries, in the biggest enlargement the EU has experienced.

What currency is used in the Czech Republic?
The Czech Republic currently uses the Czech Koruna as its currency, despite being a member of the European Union. Though Czech Republic had originally decided to begin using the euro, the support for adopting the euro has dropped and it is currently unknown whether or not Czech Republic will join the Eurozone, or the group of countries in Europe that share a common currency in order to stabilize the monetary system. Countries in the EU are not required to adopt the euro as their currency.

Who are the political leaders of the Czech Republic?
President: Miloš Zeman

Prime Minister: Bohuslav Sobotka

What is the population of the Czech Republic?
The Czech Republic’s population is estimated around 10 million.

What is Bohemia?
Bohemia was a central European region in what is now western Czech Republic, where the ancient Boii people lived.
Bohemia was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire for many years until its collapse after World War I. In October, 1918 Bohemia joined together with Moravia and other nearby regions to create Czechoslovakia. It continues to be designated as a region of the Czech Republic.

What was the Velvet Revolution?
In November and December of 1989, the people of Czechoslovakia held several non-violent demonstrations, including peaceful protests and strikes, against the communist government. The Velvet Revolution resulted in the overthrow of Communist Party, and the creation of a democratic government in its place. Why did Czechoslovakia split up?

Czechoslovakia dissolved in what is called the “Velvet Divorce,” in reference to the Velvet Revolution of 1989. The Velvet Divorce was the peaceful end to the union of the Czechs and the Slovaks, instigated by the latter. Though the majority of both the Czechs and the Slovaks were not in favor of the dissolution of Czechoslovakia, the separation went into effect January 1, 1993.

The Czechs and the Slovaks may have never fully merged in the first place, since their relatively recent unification in 1918, making their separation much easier. The peacefulness of the separation is a rarity in history.

What is Czech Republic’s national holiday?
Though the Czech Republic was created as a country on January 1, 1993, the national holiday is Czechoslovak Founding Day on October 28, 1918, which celebrates the day Czechoslovakia became independent from Austria-Hungary.

What languages are spoken in the Czech Republic?
Czech, which was known as Bohemian until the end of the 19th century, is the official and majority language in the Czech Republic. A Slavic language, Czech is mutually intelligible with Slovak, the language of Slovakia, which is also officially recognized as a minority language in Czech Republic.

What countries border the Czech Republic?
Czech Republic shares a long border with Germany to its west and Austria to its south. Poland borders the Czech Republic on the north, while Slovakia occupies the region to Czech Republic’s southeast.

Last Updated on: June 26th, 2018