Which Countries Use Dollar As Their National Currency? - Answers

Answers » World » Which Countries Use Dollar As Their National Currency?

Which Countries Use Dollar As Their National Currency?

4.9/5 - (8 votes)
4.9/5 - (8 votes)

World Map marking the countries which use Dollar

The Dollar is the name of the currencies of a number of different countries. The most important among these is the US Dollar (USD) or the American Dollar. Not only is the US Dollar the main currency of the United States of America, it is the foremost reserve currency held by almost all nations of the world. It is also the standard currency used in the trade of commodities such as petroleum and gold across the world.

Apart from the United States of America, there are a number of countries that use the USD as their national currency as well. This process of adopting the USD as the official currency is known as Dollarization. Despite having adopted the USD these nations may also use their own coins. Here’s a list of these countries –

  • Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
  • Ecuador
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Republic of El Salvador
  • Republic of Palau
  • Republic of Zimbabwe (follows a multi-currency system)

The following are US overseas territories or unincorporated territories that also use the United States Dollar as their primary currency –

  • American Samoa
  • Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
  • Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
  • Guam
  • United States Virgin Islands

While the US Dollar may not be the official currency, establishments in many other countries do accept the USD in transactions. It is also a commonly used currency in some Dutch territories such as Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius.

The United States Dollar is undoubtedly the most important currency in use across the globe. There are, however, a number of other currencies that are also called Dollar. Following are the countries and their currencies that are also called Dollar –

Currency Country
Australian Dollar  Australia
Bahamian Dollar  Bahamas
Barbadian Dollar  Barbados
Belize Dollar  Belize
Bermuda Dollar  Bermuda
Brunei Dollar  Brunei
Canadian Dollar  Canada
Cayman Islands Dollar  Cayman Islands
East Caribbean Dollar  Grenada
Antigua and Barbuda
 Saint Kitts and Nevis
 Saint Lucia
 Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Fijian Dollar  Fiji
Guyanese Dollar  Guyana
Hong Kong Dollar  Hong Kong
Jamaican Dollar  Jamaica
Kiribati Dollar  Kiribati
Liberian Dollar  Liberia
Namibian Dollar  Namibia
New Zealand Dollar  New Zealand
Singapore Dollar  Singapore

Related Maps:

US Map
US Map
Timor Leste Map
Timor Leste Map
Ecuador Map
Ecuador Map
Micronesia Map
Micronesia Map
Marshall Islands Map
Marshall Islands Map
El Salvador Map
El Salvador Map
Palau Map
Palau Map
Zimbabwe Map
Zimbabwe Map

Recent Posts
"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."