Which Country has Won The Most Football World Cups? - Answers

Answers » Sports » Which Country has Won The Most World Cups?

Which Country has Won The Most World Cups?

4.9/5 - (8 votes)
4.9/5 - (8 votes)
World Map Showing FIFA World Cup Winning Countries
Map of World depicting countries which have won World Cups

Brazil has won the most Football World Cup titles.

Brazil has won five times since the first World Cup was held in Montevideo, Uruguay in 1930. Eventually, the hosts Uruguay lifted the inaugural World Cup in 1930. Football giant Brazil had won the Cup in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002. Brazil is the only country which has participated in all the World Cups since its inaugural in 1930.

1958 World Cup in Sweden

Brazil beat Sweden 5-2 in the World Cup of 1958. The goal scorers of both the countries in the final match were: 

Brazil – Pelé (2), Vava (2), Mario Zagallo (1) 

Sweden – Liedholm (1), Agne Simonsson (1)

Team Captain: Brazil – Hilderaldo Luiz Bellini; Sweden – Nils Liedholm

The world remembers this World Cup as the magical talent of young Pele was discovered. The other player who stood out in this Cup was the Frenchman, Just Fontaine, who scored a total of 13 goals in the World Cup matches.

1962 World Cup in Chile

Brazil successfully defended the title defeating Czechoslovakia 3-1 in this World Cup final. The goal scorers of both the countries in the final match were: 

Brazil – Amarildo (1), Zito (1), Vava (1) 

Czechoslovakia – Josef Masopust (1)

Team Captain: Brazil – Mauro Ramos; Czechoslovakia – Ladislac Novak

Brazil proved its dominance in world football as it outclassed Czechoslovakia in the final. Still, it wasn’t the magic of Pelé, who was injured early on during the tournament rather little Garrincha who made his mark, ensuring Brazil retained the coveted World Cup title. He was the first player who bagged the Golden Ball (Player of the tournament), and Golden Boot (Leading Goalscorer) along with the World Cup title in the same tournament. The other notable player to stand out in the tournament was Florian Albert of Hungary.

1970 World Cup in Mexico

Brazil once again proved its supremacy in football beating Italy 4-1 in the World Cup final of 1970. The goal scorers from both the countries in the final match were:

Brazil – Pelé (1), Gerson (1), Jairzino (1), Carlos Alberto (1) 

Italy – Roberto Boninsegna (1).

Team Captain: Brazil – Carlos Alberto; Italy – Giacinto Facchetti

Pelé showed his magical display of talent on the ground and thrilled the football fans. But the tournament itself is historical for Gerd Muller of West Germany (FRG) who won the Golden Boot Award, scoring ten goals in the World Cup matches of the year. The young player to shine in the tournament was Teofilo Cubillas of Peru.

1994 World Cup in the USA

Brazil beat Italy 3-2 in the penalty shoot-out. The goal scorers from both countries were:

Brazil – Romario (1), Branco (1), Dunga (1) 

Italy – Albertini (1), Alberigo Evani (1)

Team Captain: Brazil – Dunga; Italy – Franco Baresi

The tournament is remembered because Brazil returned as a world champion after 24-year wait defeating Italy in the final match in the penalty shoot out. The match ended with the goalies draw after extra time. This World Cup is remembered for the breathtaking performance of Bulgaria who had reached into the semifinals for the first time beating the heavyweight performer Germany. One unfortunate incident from this Cup is, Diego Maradona was tested positive for taking drugs in this tournament, and he was banned from taking part further in this world cup.

2002 World Cup in Korea/Japan

Brazil beat Germany 2-0. The goal scorers from Brazil were:

Brazil – Ronaldo (2)

Germany – Nil 

Team Captain: Brazil – Cafu; Germany – Oliver Kahn

It was Brazil’s fifth title win, and Ronaldo was the outstanding player of the tournament. He ended the year’s World Cup tournament with a total of eight goals in all the matches.

The other winners of the FIFA World Cup are:

 Italy has won the World Cup four times – 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006.

 Germany too has won the World Cup four times – 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014.

 Uruguay has won the Cup twice – 1930, 1950.

 Argentina, too, has won the Cup twice – 1978, 1986.

France has won the world cup twice-1998, 2018

Other countries to win the World Cup:

 England – 1966

 Spain – 2010

Countries with the maximum Runners-up titles:

Germany – 4.

Germany made it to the finals in the years 1966, 1982, 1986, and 2002. In 1966, Germany led by Uwe Seeler lost 2-4 to Bobby Moore’s England in the finals. In 1982, Germany captained by Karl Heinz Rummenigge played against Dino Zoff’s Italy in the finals and lost 1-3. In 1986, Germany, once again captained by Karl Heinz Rummenigge lost 2-3 to Diego Maradona-led Argentina in the finals. Germany made it to the finals under the captaincy of Oliver Kahn in 2002 where it faced Brazil. It lost 0-2 to Cafu’s South American side. Overall, Germany had to satisfy as the bride’s maid for over four-times in world cup history.

Other countries with Runners-up titles:

 Argentina – 3 (1930, 1990 and 2014)

 Netherlands – 3 (1974, 1978, 2010)

 Brazil – 2 (1950, 1998)

 Hungary – 2 (1938, 1954)

 Czechoslovakia – 2 (1934, 1962)

 Italy – 2 (1970, 1994)

 Sweden – 1 (1958)

 France – 1 (2006)

Croatia- 1 (2018)

Related Links:

Related Map:

World Map
World Map



 4,996 total views,  1 views today

Recent Posts
"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."